Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
width="160"

Contact

Dr. Julia Maibach

Section Head

Designed interfaces for electrochemical energy storage

julia maibachEkk1∂kit edu

Tel.: +49 721 608 28515

Designed interfaces for electrochemical energy storage

We combine state-of-the-art surface and interface characterization techniques with materials design to develop next generation negative electrode materials for rechargeable batteries.
abb. 1
Figure 1: Schematic representation of an SEI depth profile using synchrotron photoelectron spectroscopy.

 

Interfaces and Interphases play a key role in rechargeable batteries such as Li-ion batteries because they determine important factors such as stability, reversibility and safety. One particularly important interphase is the solid electrolyte interphase (SEI). The SEI forms during battery operation on the negative electrode surface as a result of electrolyte decomposition. This is connected to irreversible capacity losses, as the charges consumed in the electrolyte decomposition cannot be recovered. However, in the ideal case, the SEI passivates the electrode’s surface and thus hinders continuous electrolyte decomposition.

 

 

 

 

 

Tailored electrode protection layers

 

The focus of our research activities is to understand the SEI formation in such detail that we will be able to design these important interfaces to improve battery performance and to develop the next generation of safe and stable high-performance battery systems. Since the SEI itself is only a few tens of nanometers in thickness, we apply state-of-the art surface and interface characterization techniques to follow its formation and evolution in a battery combined with electrochemical characterization.

 

At the IAM-ESS, we use x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), time of flight secondary ion mass spectrometry (TOF-SIMS) and scanning electron microscopy (SEM) (Surface & Interface analytics). In addition, we work with the development of novel in-situ characterization techniques such as ambient pressure photoelectron spectroscopy (AP-PES).

 

Project InSEIde

 

Within the project “InSEIde”, we apply this approach to Silicon/Carbon (Si/C) composites. This material is likely to replace graphite, which is currently used as anode material, in next generation lithium ion batteries. Transitioning to Si/C electrodes boosts the battery performance as silicon is capable of storing about ten times the charge of graphite.

 

This vast energy storage does however bring significant challenges, mainly in the electrode/electrolyte interface. Large volume changes in the electrode material causes severe strain on the SEI and the SEI is often seen to brake during extended cycling. This exposes fresh surface leading to a continuous SEI formation to repair the film, ultimately causing capacity losses. In order to unlock the true potential of these promising Si/C electrodes, we need to develop a stable and flexible SEI layer for this material class.

 

 


Group Members
Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dr. +49 721 608 28511 chittaranjan dasSaz5∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28506 lydia gehrleinVlm4∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28506 ahmad ghamloucheXgu4∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28512 jiarong heTez8∂partner kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28515 fabian jeschullVyd9∂kit edu

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
IAM Logo

Ansprechpartner
Dr. Julia Maibach
Gruppenleiterin Grenzflächendesign für elektrochemische Energiespeicher

julia maibachPdk1∂kit edu

 

Tel.: +49 721 608 28515

Grenzflächendesign für elektrochemische Energiespeicher

Wir verbinden Materialentwicklung mit zukunftsweisender Ober- und Grenzflächenanalytik, um die nächste Generation von Anodenmaterialien für wieder aufladbare Batterien zu entwickeln.
abb. 1
Abbildung 1: Schematische Darstellung eines Tiefenprofils der SEI mittels Synchrotron-Photoelektronenspektroskopie
Grenzflächen und Grenzphasen spielen in wieder aufladbaren Batterien wie Lithium-Ionenbatterien eine entscheidende Rolle, da sie unter anderem Eigenschaften wie Stabilität, Reversibilität und Sicherheit der Batterie beeinflussen. Eine besonders wichtige Zwischenschicht ist dabei die Solid Electrolyte Interphase (SEI). Die SEI bildet sich während des Betriebs der Batterie an der Oberfläche der negativen Elektrode aus Elektrolytzersetzungsprodukten. Diese Reaktionen sind mit unumkehrbaren Kapazitätsverlusten verbunden, da die Ladung, die während der Elektrolytzersetzung verbraucht wird, nicht wieder zurückgewonnen werden kann. Im idealen Fall hat die SEI allerdings eine passivierende Schutzfunktion und verhindert so die weitere Zersetzung des Elektrolyten.

Maßgeschneiderte Elektrodenschutzschichten

Im Zentrum unserer Forschungsaktivitäten steht daher, die SEI-Bildung im Detail zu verstehen, um mit diesem Wissen maßgeschneiderte Elektrodenschutzschichten für die nächste Generation von elektrochemischen Energiespeichersystemen zu entwickeln. Da die SEI selbst nur etwa 20-30 nm dick ist, verwenden wir modernste Ober- und Grenzflächenmethoden, um die SEI-Bildung und ihr Verhalten während des Betriebs einer Batterie zu verfolgen.

Neben elektrochemischen Methoden stehen hierfür am IAM-ESS Röntgenphotoelektronenspektroskopie (XPS), Flugzeit-Sekundärionenmassenspektrometrie (TOF-SIMS) und Rasterelektronenmikroskopie (REM) zur Verfügung (Ober- und Grenzflächenanalytik). Zudem sind wir auch an der Entwicklung von neunen in-situ Charakterisierungsmethoden wie Ambient Pressure Photoelektronenspektroskopie (AP-PES) beteiligt.

Projekt InSEIde

Im Rahmen des Projekts „InSEIde“ wird dieser Ansatz auf die Weiterentwicklung von Silizum/Kohlenstoff (Si/C)-Kompositen angewendet. Diese Materialklasse kann Graphit, das derzeit in kommerziellen Li-Ionenbatterien verwendet wird, als negatives Elektrodenmaterial ersetzten. Mit dem Übergang zu Si/C-Elektroden kann die Performance der Batterien erhöht werden, da Silizium in der Lage ist, etwa zehn Mal mehr Ladung zu speichern als Graphit.

Diese hohe Speicherfähigkeit bring jedoch neue Herausforderungen mit sich, insbesondere an der Elektrode/Elektrolyt-Grenzfläche. Große Volumenveränderungen des Elektrodenmaterials beanspruchen die SEI mechanisch und die SEI kann während dem Langzeitbetrieb der Batterie aufbrechen. Dadurch kommt neue Elektrodenoberfläche in direkten Kontakt mit dem Elektrolyten, was zu weiterer SEI-Bildung und Kapazitätsverlusten führt. Um daher das Potenzial der Si/C-Komposite voll ausschöpfen zu können, müssen wir stabile und flexible Elektrodenschutzschichten für diese Materialklasse entwickeln.

 


Gruppenmitglieder
Name Titel Tel. E-Mail
Dr. +49 721 608 28511 chittaranjan dasXjz0∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28506 lydia gehrleinZfv5∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28506 ahmad ghamloucheWgv0∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28512 jiarong heZzg4∂partner kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28515 fabian jeschullYpu7∂kit edu