Institute for Applied Materials – Materials Science and Engineering

Two component powder injection molding

Two component micro powder injection molding

Just like multi-component injection molding with polymeric materials, 2-component powder injection molding also offers significant economic advantages by combining the molding and joining steps. In a further analogy, components made of different materials can also be produced with this variant without an additional assembly step. The resulting increase in functionality is obvious.

The implementation of the process with powder molding feedstocks, though, brings with it special process-technical challenges, among which the adjustment of the sinter shrinkage (degree of shrinkage, sintering temperature, etc.) of the individual molding compounds is particularly noteworthy. If this process is also carried out with components in micro dimensions, this results in considerable R&D expenditure. At the IAM-WK intensive efforts have therefore been made for some time to develop the 2C-(µ)-PIM.

An example is the development of ceramic heating elements within the framework of a joint BMBF project. This project combined an electrically conductive mixture ceramic (TiN+Al2O3) with a pure insulating ceramic (Al2O3).

 

Materials:
Al2O3/TiN mixture ceramic,
the electrical conductivity depends on the TiN content


Demonstrator:

ceramic heating element

Function test on a ceramic heating element:

under current flow the upper, less conductive part starts to glow and dissipate heat energy

Another example was investigated in SFB 499, namely the demonstrator gear wheel on shaft.

Gear wheel Cross-cut

Demonstrator shaft-hub connection made of two different ceramics, here in green state (gear wheel colored)

  • Outer diameter (gear wheel): 2.932mm
  • thickness (gear wheel): 1mm
  • hub diameter: 0.65mm
  • shaft diameter: 1.65mm
Cross cut through the bonding zone after sintering. Although the ceramics can not be mixed thermodynamically, a firm bond is obtained by adjusting the sinter shrinkage.

2C-PIM not only allows the combination of different materials, but also the optional realization of fixed or movable connections. The sinter shrinkage is adjusted via the powder content in such a way that either a gap or a fixing shrinkage of the gear wheel on the shaft results..

 

Shaft-hub
Shaft-gap

Examples of a movable connection; by setting the sinter shrinkage of the shaft larger than that of the gear wheel, a discernible gap results.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Zwei-Komponenten-Pulverspritzgießen

Zwei-Komponenten-Mikropulverspritzgießen

Wie schon das Mehrkomponenten-Spritzgießen mit polymeren Werkstoffen bietet auch das 2-Komponenten-Mikropulverspritzgießen durch die Kombination von Formgebungs- und Fügeschritt bedeutende wirtschaftliche Vorteile. In weiterer Analogie lassen sich auch mit dieser Variante Bauteile aus unterschiedlichen Materialien ohne zusätzlichen Montageschritt herstellen. Die damit verbundene Erhöhung der Funktionalität ist offensichtlich.
Allerdings bringt die Umsetzung des Verfahrens mit Pulver-Formmassen besondere prozesstechnische Herausforderungen mit sich, unter denen vor allem die Abstimmung des Sinterschrumpfes (Schrumpfgrad, Sintertemperatur etc.) der einzelnen Formmassen zu nennen ist. Wird der Prozess auch noch mit Bauteilen in Mikrodimensionen durchgeführt so ergibt sich ein beträchtlicher F+E-Aufwand. Am IAM-WPT (ehemals IMF III) werden daher seit geraumer Zeit intensive Anstrengungen zur Entwicklung des 2C-µ-PIM vorgenommen.
Als ein Beispiel ist die Entwicklung von keramischen Heizelementen im Rahmen eines BMBF-Verbundprojektes zu nennen. Hierbei wurden eine elektrisch leitfähige Mischkeramik (TiN+Al2O3) mit einer reinen isolierenden Keramik (Al2O3) kombiniert.

 

Material:
Al2O3/TiN-Mischkeramik,
die elektrische Leitfähigkeit ist abhängig vom TiN-Anteil


Demonstrator:
keramisches Heizelement

 

 

Funktionstest an einem keramischen Heizelement:

unter Stromdurchfluss beginnt der obere, weniger leitfähige Teil zu glühen und Wärmeenergie zu dissipieren

Ein weiteres Beispiel wird zurzeit im SFB 499 untersucht, nämlich der Demonstrator Zahnrad auf Welle.

zahnrad querschliff
Demonstrator Welle-Nabe Verbindung aus zwei unterschiedlichen Keramiken,
hier Grünlinge (Zahnrad eingefärbt)
  • Außendurchmesser (Zahnrad): 2.932mm
  • Dicke (Zahnrad):                       1mm
  • Nabendurchmesser:                  0.65mm
  • Wellendurchmesser:                 1.65mm
 

Querschliff durch die Verbindungszone nach dem Sintern. Obwohl die Keramiken thermodynamisch nicht mischbar sind, ergibt sich durch Anpassung des Sinterschrumpfes eine feste Verbindung.

Dieser lässt nicht nur die Kombination unterschiedlicher Materialien sondern auch die wahlweise Realisierung fester oder beweglicher Verbindungen zu. Dabei wird der Sinterschrumpf über den Pulvergehalt so eingestellt, dass sich entweder ein Spalt oder aber ein Aufschrumpfen des Zahnrades auf der Welle ergibt.

welle-nabe welle-spalt Beispiel für eine bewegliche Verbindung; indem der Sinterschrumpf der Welle größer eingestellt wird als der des Zahnrades, ergibt sich ein erkennbarer Spalt.