Institute for Applied Materials – Materials Science and Engineering

A new manufacturing method for DEMO Divertor components

The KIT develops the production of tungsten components on an industrial scale

Tungsten is the material of first choice for the reactor wall surface of the ITER follow-up DEMO. Especially the divertor, at which plasma impurities and ashes have to be removed from the fusion process, is exposed to extreme heat and particle fluxes. As a refractory metal, tungsten resists these high thermal stresses, but it is very expensive and time-consuming to manufacture using conventional production methods.

Powder injection molding represents an alternative to conventional manufacturing. In this process, tungsten-metal powder mixed with a binder system is pressed under high pressure (up to 200 MPa) into the desired form (cavity). After removing the binder system and the subsequent sintering process, there is no need for further finishing work on the resulting near-net-shape components. The powder injection molding process for tungsten is therefore a cost-effective mass production method for manufacturing high-precision tungsten components on an industrial scale.

In the past five years, scientists at KIT IAM-WK successfully established the powder injection molding process for tungsten. The components produced range from a micro-gear wheel with a diameter of 3 mm and a weight of 0.050 g to a 1.4 kg plate with a size of 60 x 60 x 20 mm. However, it was not only the suitability of the process for tungsten that was demonstrated, also the scalability and ability to manufacture complex components with high precision. Another major advantage of the powder injection molded tungsten parts are the isotropic material properties. Conventional plates or rods produced by means of milling or turning do not have such uniaxial grain orientations and therefore cannot be used flexibly.

Different tungsten components produced by powder injection molding (Photo: KIT, Tanja Meißner)

 

An ideal instrument for the development of new materials and as a joining technique


The injection molding process is suitable for the development of new tungsten materials such as tungsten doped with titanium carbide or yttrium oxide, as well as for joining tungsten materials. Conventional joining techniques, like soldering, are replaced by the more cost-effective multi-component tungsten powder injection molding developed by KIT.

Most encouraging test results


The tungsten components manufactured at KIT were tested in the Jülich electron beam facility JUDITH-1 using thermal shock tests and thermo-mechanical fatigue. The results obtained are highly encouraging. Subsequent studies on plasma-wall interactions are planned. The divertor components produced by tungsten powder injection molding are to be tested in ASDEX Upgrade and in the GLADIS facility of IPP Garching. The injection molding process is very flexible for new designs and shapes of components. Tungsten components produced in this way, such as the Langmuir probes for the instrument samples and the monoblocks assembled to form a divertor mockup, are tested in the WEST fusion experiment.

Test samples for ASDEX Upgrade (Photo: KIT, Tanja Meißner)

Langmuir probes for WEST (Photo: KIT, Tanja Meißner)

 

Information and contact:

Dr. Steffen Antusch, KIT, steffen.antusch∂kit.edu

 

Press:

At the end of April 2016, 70 Langmuir probes produced by KIT were delivered to the Institute for Magnetic Fusion Research of the CEA in Cadarache, Southern France, within the scope of the WEST project and have been installed in the meantime.
After four years of reconstruction, the vacuum vessel was closed on 22.11.2016 at 10 am and the vacuum pumps were started.

 

Further Informations:

https://www.fusion.kit.edu/

http://www.iam.kit.edu/awp/awp-hochtemperaturwerkstoffe.php

http://west.cea.fr/en/index.php

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Eine neue Herstellungsmethode für DEMO Divertor Bauteile

KIT entwickelt die Herstellung von Wolframbauteilen im industriellen Maßstab

Wolfram ist das Material der Wahl für die Reaktorwandoberfläche vom ITER Nachfolger DEMO. Besonders der Divertor, an welchem Plasma Verunreinigungen und Asche vom Fusionsprozess entfernt werden müssen, ist extremer Hitze und Partikelflüssen ausgesetzt. Wolfram als Refraktär- Metall widersteht diesen hohen Wärmespannungen, es ist aber mittels konventioneller Fertigungsmethoden sehr kostspielig und zeitintensiv im Herstellungsprozess.

Pulverspritzguss stellt eine Alternative zu konventioneller Fertigung dar. In diesem Prozess wird Wolfram-Metall Pulver gemixt mit einem Bindersystem  und unter hohem Druck (bis zu 2000 bar) in die gewünschte Form (Kavität) gepresst. Nach dem Entfernen des Bindersystems und dem anschließenden Sinterprozess müssen an den entstehenden endkonturnahen Bauteilen keine weiteren Nacharbeiten erfolgen. Daher ist der Pulverspritzgussprozess für Wolfram eine kosteneffiziente Massenfertigungsmethode zur Herstellung hochpräziser Wolframbauteile in industriellem Maßstab.

In den vergangenen fünf Jahren haben die Forscher am KIT IAM-WK erfolgreich den Pulverspritzgussprozess für Wolfram etabliert. Die produzierten Bauteile reichen von einem Mikrozahnrad mit 3 mm Durchmesser und einem Gewicht von 0,050 g bis zu einer 1,4 kg Platte mit einer Größe von 60 x 60 x 20 mm. Aber nicht nur die Eignung des Prozesses für Wolfram wurde demonstriert, ebenso die Skalierbarkeit und die Fähigkeit zur Fertigung komplexer Bauteile mit hoher Präzision. Ein weiterer Vorteil der pulverspritzgegossenen Wolfram Teile sind die isotropen Materialeigenschaften. Konventionell mittels Fräsen oder Drehen hergestellte Platten oder Stangen besitzen nicht solche uniaxialen Kornorientierungen und sind daher nicht flexibel einsetzbar.

Verschiedene Wolfram Komponenten produziert mittels Pulverspritzguss (Foto: KIT, Tanja Meißner)

 

Ein ideales Werkzeug zur Entwicklung von neuen Materialien und als Verbindungstechnik

Zur Entwicklung von neuen Wolframmaterialien wie z.B. mit Titancarbid oder Yttriumoxid dotiertes Wolfram eignet sich der Spritzgussprozess ebenso wie zur Verbindung von Wolfram-Materialien. Traditionelle Verbindungstechniken, wie z.B. Löten, werden durch den im KIT entwickelten kostengünstigeren Mehrkomponenten Wolfram-Pulverspritzguss ersetzt.

 

Vielversprechende Testergebnisse

Die im KIT hergestellten Wolfram Bauteile wurden in der Jülicher Elektronenstrahlanlage JUDITH-1 mittels Thermoschock-Tests und Thermo-mechanischer Ermüdung getestet. Die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse sind vielversprechend. Nachfolgende Studien zu Plasma-Wand-Wechselwirkungen sind geplant. Die durch den Wolfram-Pulverspritzguss hergestellten Divertorbauteile sollen in ASDEX Upgrade und in der GLADIS Anlage des IPP Garching getestet werden. Der Spritzgussprozess ist sehr flexibel für neue Designs und Formen von Bauteilen. Die so produzierten Wolfram Bauteile, wie z.B. die Langmuir-Sonden für die Instrumentenproben und die zu einem Divertor Mockup zusammengefügten Monoblöcke werden im Fusionsexperiment WEST getestet.

Proben für ASDEX Upgrade (Foto: KIT, Tanja Meißner)

Langmuir-Sonden für WEST (Foto: KIT, Tanja Meißner)

 

Information und Kontakt:

Dr. Steffen Antusch, KIT, steffen.antusch∂kit.edu

 

Pressenotiz:

KIT produziert Langmuir-Sonden für das WEST-Projekt in Cadarache/Frankreich: 70 im KIT prodzierte Langmuir-Sonden wurden Ende April 2016 im Rahmen des Projekts WEST an das Institute for Magnetic Fusion Research des CEA im südfranzösischen Cadarache geliefert und wurden inzwischen eingebaut.
Nach vier Jahren Umbauzeit  wurde der Vakuumbehälter am 22.11.2016 um 10 Uhr geschlossen und die Vakuumpumpen gestartet.
 

Weiterführende Informationen:

https://www.fusion.kit.edu/

http://www.iam.kit.edu/awp/awp-hochtemperaturwerkstoffe.php

http://west.cea.fr/en/index.php