Institute for Applied Materials – Materials Science and Engineering

Polymer-based functional composites

In microsystems technology, in addition to silicon, plastics (polymers), metals and ceramics are well established as materials for components and products. For the realization and cost-effective production of microtechnical products, suitable materials have to meet the following general criteria:

  • good availability
  • reproducible material quality
  • acceptable price
  • good microstructurability
  • simple processability and handling

In addition, the individual physical properties that define the application purpose and area of application must be taken into consideration. Only in very few cases are all criteria fulfilled at once, so when designing and dimensioning a microtechnical component, compromises must be made either in the desired physical properties or in the processability. The use of commercially available materials rarely allows the simultaneous optimal adjustment of several physical properties such as thermal expansion, electrical conductivity or optical refractive index, so that the realization of complex property profiles often requires the development of special materialsThe use of composites is one solution to this problem. These consist of at least two different components, which are physically separated in a material composite. If the single components are chosen cleverly, a combination of the most favourable individual properties is possible, so that a tailoring of physical composite properties can be realised within certain limits.
Especially the use of nanoscale inorganic and organic filling and doping materials allows the tailoring of the physical properties of polymer-based functional composites. At the moment, the research work focuses on the following property changes:

  • Fluidity
  • Optical properties (refractive index, transmission, fluorescence in Vis and NIR range)
  • Dielectric properties (permittivity and dielectric loss)
  • Electrical properties
  • Thermomechanical properties (thermal expansion coefficient, hardness, softening temperature)

In addition to the focused property modification, the necessary process technologies for the realization of simple demonstrator components are developed. These include:

  • Light and thermally induced polymerization of the polymer matrix
  • Chemical modification of the particle-matrix interface
  • Dispersing technology
  • Design

 

For any further questions on this topic please contact Mr. Dr. Steffen Antusch

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Polymerbasierte Funktionskomposite

In der Mikrosystemtechnik sind neben Silizium Kunststoffe (Polymere), Metalle und Keramiken als Werkstoffe für Bauteile und Produkte etabliert. Für die Realisierung und kostengünstige Fertigung von mikrotechnischen Produkten müssen geeignete Materialien folgende generelle Kriterien erfüllen:

 

  • gute Verfügbarkeit
  • reproduzierbare Werkstoffqualität
  • akzeptabler Preis
  • gute Mikrostrukturierbarkeit
  • einfache Prozessierbarkeit und Handling
     

Zusätzlich müssen die individuellen physikalischen Eigenschaften, welche den Anwendungszweck und den Anwendungsbereich definieren, berücksichtigt werden. In den seltensten Fällen werden alle Kriterien gleichzeitig erfüllt, so dass beim Design und der Auslegung eines mikrotechnischen Bauteils Kompromisse entweder bei den gewünschten physikalischen Eigenschaften oder bei der Prozessierbarkeit gemacht werden müssen. Die Verwendung von kommerziell erhältlichen Werkstoffen erlaubt nur selten eine gleichzeitige optimale Einstellung mehrerer physikalischer Eigenschaften, wie thermische Ausdehnung, elektrische Leitfähigkeit oder optischer Brechungsindex, so dass die Realisierung komplexer Eigenschaftsprofile häufig die Entwicklung spezieller Werkstoffe erforderlich macht. Einen Lösungsansatz hierfür stellt die Verwendung von Kompositmaterialien dar. Diese bestehen aus mindestens zwei unterschiedlichen Komponenten, welche physikalisch getrennt in einem Materialverbund vorliegen. Bei geschickter Wahl der Einzelkomponenten ist eine Kombination der jeweils günstigsten Einzeleigenschaften möglich, so dass ein Maßschneidern von physikalischen Kompositeigenschaften in gewissen Grenzen realisiert werden kann.
Speziell die Verwendung von nanoskaligen anorganischen und organischen Füll- und Dotierstoffen erlaubt das Maßschneidern der physikalischen Eigenschaften von polymerbasierten Funktionskompositen. Derzeit konzentrieren sich die Forschungsarbeiten auf folgende Eigenschaftsänderungen:
 

  • Fließeigenschaften
  • Optische Eigenschaften (Brechungsindex, Transmission, Fluoreszens im Vis und NIR-Bereich)
  • Dielektrische Eigenschaften (Permittivität und dielektrischer Verlust)
  • Elektrische Leitfähigkeit
  • Thermomechanische Eigenschaften (thermischer Ausdehnungskoeffizient, Härte, Erweichungstemperatur)
     

Neben der gezielten Eigenschaftsänderung werden die notwendigen Prozesstechnologien zur Realisierung von einfachen Demonstratorbauteilen entwickelt. Dazu gehören:
 

  • Licht- und thermisch induzierte Polymerisation der Polymermatrix
  • Chemische Modifikation der Partikel-Matrix-Grenzfläche
  • Dispergiertechnologie
  • Formgebung

 

Fragen zu diesem Thema richten Sie bitte an Herrn Dr. Steffen Antusch.