IAM - Computational Materials Science
GemeinsamFahren KIT
Riding together with Britta Nestler

Since the end of June 2019, KIT also offers carpooling benches - two on Campus South, one on Campus North. In addition to the bus shuttle, they are intended to improve the mutual connection between the main KIT sites. Moreover, on the joint trip, one gets to know interesting colleagues - thus, the trip becomes entertaining and amusing.

Video zu GemeinsamFahren
gumbsch_acatechFoto: Irina Westermann, KIT
Peter Gumbsch is a member of acatech

Professor Peter Gumbsch was accepted as a member of the German Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech). The task of acatech is to advise politics and society on future issues relating to technology science and technology policy.

To the press release
Christian_Greiner_Adolf-Martens-Preis
Christian Greiner receives Adolf Martens Prize

On December 5, 2019, Dr. Christian Greiner was awarded the Adolfs Martens Prize in Berlin for outstanding work in the field of materials research. We congratulate!

To the BAM press release
Christian_GreinerIAM-CMS
Christian Greiner elected as member of the DFG Review Boards

Dr. Christian Greiner was elected member of the review boards of the German Research Foundation (DFG). In this function he will participate as an expert in the field of "Mechanical properties of metallic materials and their microstructural causes" in the evaluation of applications for financial support of research projects.

To the DFG Review Board election
Britta_Nestler_Bundesverdienstorden(Foto: IAM-CMS)
Order of Merit for Britta Nestler

On October 2, 2019, Professor Dr. Britta Nestler was awarded the Cross of Merit on Ribbon of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany by Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Berlin in recognition of her special services to the people and the state. The award honours the scientist as a "bridge-builder between basic research and practical application". [Quote: Office of the Federal President]

Link_more
Maurice Godet Award for Julia Lehmann

Julia Lehmann was awarded the Maurice Godet Award at this year's 46th LeedsLyon Symposium on Tribology in Lyon for the best presentation entitled "Velocity-dependence of tribologically-induced oxidation of high-purity copper", a prize in honour of the co-founder of the symposium, which honours the work of young scientists in the field of tribology.

We congratulate very warmly!

https://cdn.meine-vrm.de/-RFfPZ-QtSuSM7lGx1aeZdngqiw=/1020x510/smart/819%2F20086%2F20086006%2F41445737.jpgFoto: Michael Lang
Anastasia August won twice!

Anastasia August won twice last week: On April 10th in
Heilbronn and on 12 April in Michelstadt. In Heilbronn the
famous "Polar Bear Lecture" for the first prize, in Michelstadt could
convince the presentation about the latent heat accumulators. Cordially
Congratulations!

Link_more
August AnastasiaQuelle: SWR
Anastasia August with coffee or tea

Dr. Anastasia August was invited to the SWR broadcast "Kaffee oder Tee" (Coffee or Tea) on the occasion of the Women and Girls in Science Day (February 11). Among other things, she tells how she educates her own daughter to be strong enough to not shy away from pursuing a scientific career if she is interested.

Zur Pressemitteilung
We're runners-up!

managed to get into the top three at the German Science Slam Championship on November 24th in Wiesbaden. She shares second place with psychologist Moritz Kirchner. She explained the principle of an autonomous heat storage module based on an excellent latent heat storage material: paraffin. The winner was Aniruddha Dutta, a metal researcher from Düsseldorf. We are of course pleased to congratulate the distinguished materials scientist. But we are especially proud of our Anastasia!

Mehr zu dieser Veranstatlung unter
German Science Slam Championship 2018

won the South Preliminary in Munich on 23.10. and thus qualified for the German Science Slam Championship 2018, which will take place on 24.11.2018 in Wiesbaden. We congratulate and keep our fingers crossed!

@ Anastasia August@ Anastasia August
Green Science Slam in Zeiss large planetarium in Berlin

On 14.11. Anastasia August won the Green Science Slam in Zeiss large planetarium in Berlin. We congratulate her very much!

Link_more
Science Slam 26 Mainzer Augusthttps://www.science-slam.com/personen/info/slammer/august-anastasia.htm
Two times in two weeks Science Slamer

Two times in two weeks Dr. Anastasia August managed to beat other science slammers. Firstly, she won the 26th Mainz Science Slam on 12.9., where she explained latent heat storage based on metal foams. On the other hand, she won over the audience at the Centre for Applied Aviation Research in Hamburg on 18.9. with her presentation on polar bear storage modules. Anastasia has now been nominated for the South German Science Slam Championship, which will take place on 23.10. in Munich. We are very happy, congratulations and keep our fingers crossed!

The polar bear conquers the hearts!

Won twice in two weeks! Dr. Anastasia August won first place in the Science Slam at the annual conference "Production Systems" in Stuttgart on June 19, 2018 and also won the final Scicen Slam of the series "Living Progress" against four strong speakers on June 28, 2018 in Hamburg. Among others against the European Champion 2015 Simon McGowan. We congratulate on this great achievement!

Fakultätspreis Anastasia August
Dr. Anastasia August receives the faculty teaching award 2018!

At the suggestion of the student council, the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering awards the Faculty Teaching Award 2018 for her lecture "Microstructure Simulation". wins the recognition of her students with her ability to convey complex scientific content in a structured, motivating and above all understandable way. The award will be presented during the KIT annual celebration on April 19. We are proud of and congratulate her on this success!


Link_more
Christian Greiner receives ERC Consolidator Grant

Dr. Christian Greiner was awarded a Consolidator Grant by the European Research Council (ERC) for his research on materials under tribological stress.

The ERC is thus funding the project TriboKey (Deformation Mechanisms are the Key to Understanding and Tayloring Tribological Behaviour) for five years with approximately two million euros.


Presseinformation des KIT
Anastasia August wins the Climate Slam in Bonn

Anastasia August won the Climate Slam at the Climate Conference in Bonn on 16.11.2017 and beat the European Champion 2015. The Science Slam took place in the Media Centre of the Federal Agency for Civic Education and was organised by the editorial staff of the magazine "Aus Politik und Zeitgeschichte". We congratulate you on this victory!

Peter Gumbsch elected Chairman of the Scientific Commission of the German Science Council

Peter Gumbsch will assume the chairmanship of the Scientific Commission of the German Science Council on February 1, 2017. The Science Council advises the Federal Government and the governments of the Länder on issues relating to the content and structural development of universities, science and research. The Science Council consists of two commissions, the Scientific Commission with 32 representatives of science and public life and the Administrative Commission with the representatives of the Federal Government and the Länder, which meet in the Plenary Assembly and take joint decisions there.

Britta_Nestler_Leibniz-Preis(Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Britta Nestler receives the Leibniz Prize 2017

Professor Britta Nestler will receive the most important research promotion prize in Germany - the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2017, which the German Research Foundation has awarded to her in recognition of her outstanding scientific achievements to date in order to promote her future work. We are very happy and proud of our institute director!

Eine Meldung der Helmholz Gesellschaft zu dieser Auszeichnung
Lars Pastewka receives call to the University of Freiburg

, who heads an Emmy-Noether junior research group at IAM-CMS on the simulation of friction and wear of amorphous materials, funded by the German Research Foundation, has been offered the W3 professorship for simulation by the University of Freiburg.

Anastasia August wins another Science Slam

With routine Anastasia August brings the next victory to Karlsruhe. On 1 February, the polar bear once again proved to be unbeatable at a Science Slam competition in Stuttgart. SWR Landesschau reports: Link to short film

Heisenberg Professorship for Martin Dienwiebel

The German Research Foundation supports the research of Martin Dienwiebel on applied nanotribology. Here the press release of KIT and the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWM.

Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch elected to the US National Academy of Engineering NAE

Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch, Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWM in Freiburg and Professor of Mechanics of Materials at IAM-CMS, has been elected member of the US National Academy of Engineering NAE have been elected. For this purpose the press release of the KIT and the announcement of the NAE.

Katrin Schulz selected for Wrangell habilitation programme

Dr. Katrin Schulz has been selected for the Margarete von Wrangell habilitation programme has been. Through the programme, the state of Baden-Württemberg supports outstanding female researchers on the way to professorship.

KIT press release

Gemeinsam Fahren mit Britta Nestler KIT
Gemeinsam Fahren mit Britta Nestler

Seit Ende Juni 2019 gibt es auch am KIT Mitfahrbänke - zwei am Campus Süd, eine am Campus Nord. In Ergänzung des Bus-Shuttles sollen sie die wechselseitige Anbindung der Hauptstandorte des KIT verbessern. Darüber hinaus lernt man auf der gemeinsamen Fahrt interessante Kolleginnen und Kollegen kennen - so wird die Fahrt kurzweilig und unterhaltsam.

Video zu GemeinsamFahren
gumbsch_acatechFoto: Irina Westermann, KIT
Peter Gumbsch ist Mitglied der acatech

Professor Peter Gumbsch wurde als Mitglied in die Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech) aufgenommen. Die acatech hat die Aufgabe, die Politik und die Gesellschaft in technikwissenschaftlichen und technologiepolitischen Zukunftsfragen zu beraten.

Zur Pressemitteilung
Christian_Greiner_Adolf-Martens-Preis
Christian Greiner erhält Adolf-Martens-Preis

Am 05.12.2019 wurde Dr. Christian Greiner in Berlin der Adolfs-Martens-Preis für herausragende Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Materialforschung verliehen. Wir gratulieren!

Zur Pressemitteilung des BAM
Christian_GreinerIAM-CMS
Christian Greiner als Mitglied der Fachkollegien der DFG gewählt

Dr. Christian Greiner wurde zum Mitglied der Fachkollegien der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gewählt. Er wird in dieser Funktion als Experte auf dem Fachgebiet "Mechanische Eigenschaften von metallischen Werkstoffen und ihre mikrostrukturellen Ursachen" bei der Bewertung von Anträgen auf finanzielle Förderung von Forschungsvorhaben mitwirken.

Zur DFG-Fachkollegienwahl
Britta_Nestler_Bundesverdienstorden(Foto: IAM-CMS)
Bundesverdienstorden für Britta Nestler

Am 02. Oktober 2019 wurde Frau Professorin Dr. Britta Nestler in Anerkennung der um Volk und Staat erworbenen besonderen Verdienste das Verdienstkreuz am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland  durch Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Berlin verliehen. Die Auszeichnung würdigt die Wissenschaftlerin als ,,Brückenbauerin zwischen Grundlagenforschung und der praktischen Anwendung.'' [Zitat: Bundespräsidialamt]

Zur Pressemitteilung
Preisverleihung Julia Lehmann@Lehmann_Julia
Maurice Godet Award für Julia Lehmann

Julia Lehmann wurde auf dem diesjährigen 46. LeedsLyon Symposium für Tribologie in Lyon für die beste Präsentation mit dem Titel „Velocity-dependence of tribologically-induced oxidation of high-purity copper“ mit dem Maurice Godet Award ausgezeichnet.  Der Preis zu Ehren des Mitgründers des Symposiums würdigt die Arbeit junger Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen auf dem Gebiet der Tribologie.

Wir gratulieren ganz herzlich!

https://cdn.meine-vrm.de/-RFfPZ-QtSuSM7lGx1aeZdngqiw=/1020x510/smart/819%2F20086%2F20086006%2F41445737.jpg
Ganz zwei Mal gewann Anastasia August!

Ganz zwei Mal gewann Anastasia August letzte Woche: Am 10. April in
Heilbronn und am 12. April in Michelstadt. In Heilbronn sorgte der
berühmte "Eisbär-Vortrag" für den ersten Preis, in Michelstadt konnte
die Präsentation über die latenten Wärmespeicher überzeugen. Herzlichen
Glückwunsch!

Zur Pressemitteilung
Quelle: SWR, https://www.swr.de/kaffee-oder-tee/menschen/dr/-/id=11783104/did=23415114/nid=11783104/z67cay/index.htmlQuelle: SWR
Anastasia August bei Kaffee oder Tee

Dr. Anastasia August wurde anlässlich des Tages der Frauen und Mädchen in der Wissenschaft (11. Februar) in die SWR-Sendung "Kaffee oder Tee" eingeladen. Dort erzählt sie unter Anderem, wie sie ihre eigene Tochter zur inneren Stärke erzieht, damit sie später nicht scheut, bei Interesse eine naturwissenschaftliche Karriere einzuschlagen.

Zur Pressemitteilung
Wir sind Vizemeister!

gelang es, bei der Deutschen Science Slam Meisterschaft am 24. November in Wiesbaden, unter die besten Drei zu kommen. Sie teilt den zweiten Platz mit dem Psychologen Moritz Kirchner. Sie erklärte das Prinzip eines autonomen Wärmespeichermoduls auf Basis von einem ausgezeichneten Latentwärmespeichermaterial: Paraffin. Gewonnen hat Aniruddha Dutta, ein Metallforscher aus Düsseldorf. Wir gratulieren natürlich gerne dem verehrten Herrn Kollegen Materialwissenschaftler. Aber ganz besonders stolz sind wir auf unsere Anastasia!

Mehr zu dieser Veranstatlung unter
Deutsche Science Slam Meisterschaft 2018

gewann am 23.10. den Süd-Vorentscheid in München und qualifizierte sich damit für die Deutsche Science Slam Meisterschaft 2018, die am 24.11.2018 in Wiesbaden stattfindet. Wir gratulieren und drücken die Daumen!

@ Anastasia AugustAnastasia August Berlin 2018
Green Science Slam in Zeiss Großplanetarium in Berlin

Am 14.11. hat Anastasia August den Green Science Slam in Zeiss Großplanetarium in Berlin gewonnen. Wir gratulieren ganz herzlich!

Link_more
Science Slam 26 Mainzer Augusthttps://www.science-slam.com/personen/info/slammer/august-anastasia.htm
Zwei mal in zwei Wochen Science Slamer

Zwei mal in zwei Wochen gelang Dr. Anastasia August der Sieg gegen andere Science Slamer. Zum Einen gewann sie am 12.9. den 26. Mainzer Science Slam, bei dem sie Latentwärmespeicher auf Basis von Metallschäumen erklärte. Zum Anderen konnte sie am 18.9. am Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung in Hamburg das Publikum mit dem Vortrag über Eisbär-Speichermodule für sich gewinnen. Anastasia ist nun für die süddeutsche Science Slam Meisterschaft, die am 23.10. in München stattfindet, nominiert. Wir freuen uns, gratulieren ganz herzlich und drücken die Daumen!

Der Eisbär erobert die Herzen!

Zweimal gewonnen in zwei Wochen! Frau Dr. Anastasia August ereichte am 19.06.2018 der ersten Platz im Science Slam auf der Jahrestagung "Production Systems" in Stuttgart und sezte sich auch im finalen Scicen Slam der Reihe "Fortschritt leben" gegen vier starke Vortragende am 28.06.2018 in Hamburg durch. Unter Anderem gegen den Europa-Meister 2015 Simon McGowan. Wir gratulieren zu dieser großartigen Leistung!

Fakultätspreis Anastasia August
Frau Dr. Anastasia August bekommt den Fakultätslehrpreis 2018!

Auf Vorschlag der studentischen Fachschaft verleiht die Fakultät für Maschinenbau Frau für ihre Vorlesung "Mikrostruktursimulation" den Fakultätslehrpreis 2018. Frau gewinnt die Anerkennung ihrer Studenten mit ihrer Fähigkeit, komplexe wissenschaftliche Inhalte strukturiert, motivierend und vor Allem verständlich zu vermitteln. Der Preis wird im Rahmen der KIT Jahresfeier am 19. April überreicht. Wir sind stolz auf Frau und gratulieren ihr ganz herzlich zu diesem Erfolg!

 

Film Fakultätslehpreis
Christian Greiner erhält ERC Consolidator Grant

Dr. Christian Greiner wurde vom Europäische Forschungsrat (European Research Council – ERC) mit einem Consolidator Grant für seine Forschung über Materialien unter tribologischer Belastung ausgezeichnet.

Der ERC fördert damit das Projekt TriboKey (Deformation Mechanisms are the Key to Understanding and Tayloring Tribological Behaviour) für fünf Jahre mit rund zwei Millionen Euro.

 

Presseinformation des KIT
Anastasia August gewinnt den Klima Slam in Bonn

Anastasia August gewann am 16.11.2017 in Bonn den Klima Slam im Rahmen der Klimakonferenz und setzte sich unter Anderem gegen den Europa-Meister 2015 durch. Der Science Slam fand im Medienzentrum der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung statt und wurde von der Redaktion der Zeitschrift "Aus Politik und Zeitgeschichte" organisiert. Wir gratulieren herzlich zu diesem Sieg! 

Peter Gumbsch zum Vorsitzenden der Wissenschaftlichen Kommission des Wissenschaftsrats gewählt

Peter Gumbsch wird zum 1. Februar 2017 den Vorsitz der wissenschaftlichen Kommission des Wissenschaftsrats übernehmen. Der Wissenschaftsrat berät die Bundesregierung und die Regierungen der Länder in Fragen der inhaltlichen und strukturellen Entwicklung der Hochschulen, der Wissenschaft und der Forschung. Der Wissenschaftsrat besteht aus zwei Kommissionen, der Wissenschaftlichen Kommission mit 32 Vertretern der Wissenschaft und des öffentlichen Lebens und der Verwaltungskommission mit den Repräsentanten von Bund und Ländern, die in der Vollversammlung zusammentreten und dort gemeinsame Beschlüsse fassen.

Professorin Britta Nestler erhält den Leibniz-Preis (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)(Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Britta Nestler bekommt den Leibniz Preis 2017

Frau Professor Britta Nestler bekommt den wichtigsten Forschungsförderpreis in Deutschland - den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis 2017. Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft hat ihr diesen Preis, der sich auf 2.500.000€ beläuft, in Würdigung ihrer bisherigen hervorragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen zur Förderung ihrer künftigen Arbeiten zugesprochen. Wir freuen uns riesig und sind voller Stolz auf unsere Insitutsleiterin!
 

Eine Meldung der Helmholz Gemeinschaft zu dieser Auszeichnung
Lars Pastewka erhält Ruf an die Uni Freiburg

, der am IAM-CMS eine von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderte Emmy-Noether-Nachwuchsgruppe zur Simulation von Reibung und Verschleiß amorpher Materialien leitet, hat von der Universität Freiburg einen Ruf auf die W3-Professur für Simulation erhalten.

Anastasia August gewinnt erneut einen Science Slam

Routiniert holt Anastasia August den nächsten Sieg nach Karlsruhe. Am 1. Februar hat sich der Eisbär bei einem Science Slam Wettbewerb in Stuttgart wieder einmal als unschlagbar erwiesen. SWR Landesschau berichtet: Link zum Kurzfilm

Heisenberg-Professur für Martin Dienwiebel

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft fördert die Forschung von Martin Dienwiebel zur Angewandten Nanotribologie. Hier die Presseerklärung des KIT und des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Werkstoffmechanik IWM.

Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch in die US National Academy of Engineering NAE gewählt

Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch, Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Werkstoffmechanik IWM in Freiburg und Professor für Werkstoffmechanik am IAM-CMS, ist zum Mitglied der US National Academy of Engineering NAE gewählt worden. Hierzu die Presseinformation des KIT und die Bekanntgabe der NAE.

Katrin Schulz für Wrangell-Habilitationsprogramm ausgewählt

Dr. Katrin Schulz ist für das Margarete von Wrangell-Habilitationsprogramm ausgewählt worden. Über das Programm fördert das Land Baden-Württemberg herausragende Forscherinnen auf dem Weg zur Professur.

KIT-Pressemeldung