Research data management and machine learning in engineering sciences

  • place:

    Achat Plaza Karlsruhe
    Mendelssohnplatz        
    76131 Karlsruhe

  • Zeit:

     19. – 20.11.2019

  • In:

    Karlsruhe

Registration

The registration page for KIT members can be found here.

The registration page for all NON-KIT members can be found here.

A contribution towards expenses of 150,00€ per participant will be charged. Information about booking a hotel stay (contingent reserved until 12.11) will be provided during the registration. Please note that the number of participants is limited.

Programme booklet

The program of the event can be found here.

Research data management and machine learning in engineering sciences

Research data management in the engineering sciences is of increasing essential importance. This applies not only, but especially in the material sciences, as research into new materials is becoming increasingly complex. Storing, exchanging and making available such data sets, including metadata, in a structured way is a great challenge. This is where research data management comes into play, the aim of which is to make digital research data accessible and usable. Closely related to this is the topic of data analysis, especially with regard to very large data sets, which is facilitated by this. A central role is played by the topic of machine learning, which enables data-driven analyses to establish a deeper connection between experiments and simulations.
In the workshop both topics will be discussed, related difficulties and hurdles will be worked out, existing solutions or solutions in progress will be presented and requirements for new or existing solutions will be taken up.


About NFDI4Ing

In 2017, NFDI4Ing was founded as a self-initiated consortium for the development and establishment of a National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI) for the engineering sciences. The aim is to develop and/or expand services and structures in accordance with the needs of the engineering sciences, which are necessary for a long-term
sustainable work with research data is helpful or necessary.


About FestBatt

The aim of the competence cluster FestBatt is to develop basic knowledge for solid state batteries as well as to understand their function in detail, to describe them scientifically and to develop functional prototypes. In addition to researching the required materials, the production of such batteries also plays an important role. Within the framework of the method platform for theory and data, a research data infrastructure for solid state battery systems is also being created.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Forschungsdatenmanagement und Maschinelles Lernen in den Ingenieurwissenschaften

Forschungsdatenmanagement und Maschinelles Lernen in den Ingenieurwissenschaften
Tagung:

Forschungsdatenmanagement und Maschinelles Lernen in den Ingenieurwissenschaften

In:

Karlsruhe

Tagungsort:

Achat Plaza Karlsruhe
Mendelssohnplatz        
76131 Karlsruhe

Datum:

 19. – 20.11.2019
 

Autoren:

Dr.-Ing. Michael Selzer

Anmeldung

Die Anmeldeseite für KIT-Angehörige ist hier zu finden.

Die Anmeldeseite für alle NICHT-KIT-Angehörige ist hier zu finden.

Es wird ein Unkostenbeitrag von 150,00€ je Teilnehmer erhoben, Informationen zur Buchung einer Hotelübernachtung (Kontingent reserviert bis 12.11) erhalten Sie im Rahmen der Anmeldung. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Teilnehmeranzahl begrenzt ist.

Programmheft

Das Programm zur Veranstaltung ist hier zu finden.

Forschungsdatenmanagement und Maschinelles Lernen in den Ingenieurwissenschaften

Forschungsdatenmanagement in den Ingenieurwissenschaften ist von zunehmend essenzieller Bedeutung. Dies gilt nicht nur, aber insbesondere auch in den Materialwissenschaften, da die Erforschung neuer Materialien zunehmend komplexer wird. Solche Datenmengen inklusive entsprechen der Metadaten strukturiert abzuspeichern, auszutauschen und zugänglich zu machen stellt dabei eine große Herausforderung dar. An dieser Stelle kommt das Forschungsdatenmanagement ins Spiel, dessen Ziel es ist, digitale Forschungsdaten zugänglich und nutzbar zu machen. Eng hiermit verbunden ist das Thema Datenanalyse, insbesondere auf sehr große Datenmengen bezogen, welches hiermit erleichtert wird. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt dabei das Thema Machine Learning, welches datengetriebene Analysen ermöglicht, um damit eine tiefere Verbindung zwischen Experimenten und Simulationen herzustellen.
Im Workshop werden beide Thematiken behandelt, damit verbundene Schwierigkeiten und Hürden aufgearbeitet sowie vorhandene oder sich in Arbeit befindliche Lösungsansätze präsentiert und Anforderungen an neue oder bestehende Lösungen aufgenommen.

 

Über NFDI4Ing

2017 wurde NFDI4Ing als eigeninitiativ agierendes Konsortium für den Aus- und Aufbau einer Nationalen Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (NFDI) für die Ingenieurwissenschaften gegründet. Ziel ist es entsprechend der Bedarfe der Ingenieurwissenschaften Services und Strukturen zu entwickeln und/oder auszubauen, die für eine langfristig
nachhaltige Arbeit mit Forschungsdaten hilfreich bzw. erforderlich sind.

 

Über FestBatt

Ziel des Kompetenzclusters FestBatt ist es, grundlegendes Wissen für Festkörperbatterien zu erarbeiten sowie deren Funktionsweise im Detail zu verstehen, wissenschaftlich zu beschreiben und funktionsfähige Prototypen zu entwickeln. Neben der Erforschung der benötigten Materialien, spielt auch die Produktion solcher Batterien eine wichtige Rolle. Im Rahmen der Methodenplattform für Theorie und Daten entsteht außerdem eine Forschungsdateninfrastruktur für Festkörperbatteriesysteme.