IAM - Computational Materials Science

Our mission statement

The Institute for Applied Materials - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS) engages in research and teaching in the area of safety and reliability assessment of component parts.

The IAM-CMS preferentially uses methods of model building and numerical simulation. It combines atomistic methods with microstructural specifications and continuum mechanical analysis. In the field of tribology, we carry out both basic and applied research on a cross-scale basis, combining experimental investigations with high-resolution electron microscopy and analysis to elucidate the fundamental mechanisms in frictional contact.

We conduct our research work in close collaboration with national and international partners and with a very tight connection to the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials, IWM,  including our joint activity, the MicroTribology Center, µTC.

The IAM-CMS currently hosts independent junior research groups led by Christian Greiner and Katrin Schulz.

 

Institute management

2017_091_Britta Nestler erhaelt Leibniz-Preis_72dpi(Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Britta Nestler

Microstructure simulations in materials engineering

Personal page

Points of Pride

Federal Order of Merit

 

As the only general award of merit in Germany, the Order of Merit is the highest recognition awarded by the Federal Republic of Germany, for outstanding personal services to the common good. Since 1951, when it was founded by President Theodor Heuss, the Federal Republic of Germany has honored German and foreign citizens for political, economic, social and intellectual achievements.

Britta Nestler

n 2019, Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler is awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, for her scientific merits, which is awarded under the motto "Courage for the Future: Overcoming Borders". The award is based on the combination of basic research and practical application, in the field of materials research, which Nestler has promoted significantly.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

 

Since 1985, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize has been awarded annually by the German Research Foundation (DFG), to support outstanding scientists from all disciplines. The objective of the funding is to improve the working conditions of the award-winning researchers by expanding research opportunities, reducing administrative costs and enabling the employment of particularly qualified younger scientists. The most important research award in Germany is endowed with 2.5 million euros and is only granted on the advance of third parties.

Britta Nestler

In 2017, Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler is awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, for her research in the field of computer-aided materials research and the development of new material models, using multi-scale and multiphysical approaches. In addition, her further development of the phase-field method and the creative use of this method are also honored. The possibility of designing and simulating processes, materials or components with the aid of a computer reduces the number of necessary experiments, saves energy and resources and enables weak points to be identified at an early stage.

 

Peter Gumbsch

In 2007, Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch received the award for his work in the field of materials science, including his developments in the field of multi-scale material modeling. Furthermore, Gumbsch has contributed a great deal to the current understanding of fracture and deformation processes by, among other things, investigating dislocations in more detail, which underlie deformation processes. He has shown that dislocations behave differently, depending on the velocity, as their motion generates different amounts of heat and can even reach supersonic speeds.

State Research Prize

 

Every year, the state of Baden-Württemberg awards the State Research Prize in recognition of basic and applied research. A prize of 100,000 euros is awarded for each of the two research fields. The objective of the prize is to increase the public awareness of research and to promote innovation in Baden-Württemberg.

Britta Nestler

n 2008, Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler received the prize for applied research, for her work in computer-aided material development with new simulation techniques and modeling methods, at the Institute for Computational Engineering (ICE), located at Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences.

IAM - Computational Materials Science

Unser Leitbild

Das Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS) befasst sich in Forschung, Lehre und Transfer mit den mechanischen, tribologischen und strukturellen Eigenschaften von Werkstoffen und der Bauteilbewertung.

Wir arbeiten bevorzugt mit Methoden der Modellbildung und der numerischen Simulation und verbinden dabei atomistische Betrachtungen von Werkstoffen und deren Defekten mit mikrostruktureller Modellierung und kontinuumsmechanischer Analyse. Im Bereich der Tribologie führen wir skalenübergreifend sowohl grundlagen- als auch anwendungsorientierte Forschungsarbeiten durch und kombinieren dabei experimentelle Untersuchungen mit hochauflösender Elektronenmikroskopie und Analytik, um die grundlegenden Mechanismen im Reibkontakt aufzuklären.

Wir forschen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen deutschen und internationalen Partnern, mit der Hochschule Karlsruhe, insbesondere dem Institut für Digitale Materialforschung (IDM) und in enger Wechselwirkung mit dem Fraunhofer Institut für Werkstoffmechanik (IWM), mit dem wir auch das MikroTribologie Centrum, µTC gemeinsam betreiben.

Das IAM-CMS beheimatet aktuell unabhängige Nachwuchsgruppen, die von Christian Greiner  und Katrin Schulz geleitet werden.

Institutsleitung

ne(Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Britta Nestler

Mikrostruktursimulation in der Werkstofftechnik

Zur Profilseite

Points of Pride

Bundesverdienstorden

 

Als einzige allgemeine Verdienstauszeichnung in Deutschland ist der Bundesverdienstorden die höchste Anerkennung, die die BRD für herausragende persönliche Verdienste um das Gemeinwohl vergibt. Die Bundesrepublik würdigt damit seit der Stiftung durch Bundespräsident Theodor Heuss 1951 in- und ausländische Bürgerinnen und Bürger für politische, wirtschaftlich-soziale und geistige Leistungen.

Britta Nestler

2019 erhält Professorin Dr. Britta Nestler für ihre wissenschaftlichen Verdienste den Bundesverdienstorden, der in diesem Jahr unter dem Motto „Mut zur Zukunft: Grenzen überwinden“ verliehen wird. Die von Nestler wesentlich vorangetriebene Verbindung von Grundlagenforschung und der praktischen Anwendung im Bereich der Materialforschung liegen der Ehrung zu Grunde.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis

 

Seit 1985 wird der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis jährlich von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) zur Förderung hervorragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aller Fachgebiete verliehen. Die Förderung hat zum Ziel, die Arbeitsbedingungen der ausgezeichneten Forscherinnen und Forscher zu verbessern, indem sie die Forschungsmöglichkeiten erweitert, den administrativen Aufwand verringert und die Beschäftigung besonders qualifizierter jüngerer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ermöglicht. Der wichtigste Forschungsförderpreis in Deutschland ist mit 2,5 Millionen Euro dotiert und wird ausschließlich auf Vorschlaf Dritter gewährt.

Britta Nestler

Im Jahr 2017 erhält Professorin Dr. Britta Nestler den Preis für ihre Forschung im Bereich der computergestützten Materialforschung und der Entwicklung neuer Materialmodelle mit multiskaligen und multiphysikalischen Ansätzen. Zudem werden ihre Weiterentwicklung der Phasenfeldmethode und der kreative Einsatz dieser Methode geehrt. Die Möglichkeit Prozesse, Werkstoffe oder Bauteile mithilfe eines Computers zu gestalten und zu simulieren, verringert die Anzahl an notwendigen Versuchen, spart Energie und Ressourcen und ermöglicht früh das Erkennen von Schwachstellen.

 

Peter Gumbsch

Im Jahr 2007 erhält Professor Dr. Peter Gumbsch die Auszeichnung für seine Arbeit im Bereich der Werkstoffwissenschaften, unter anderem für seine Entwicklungen im Gebiet der Multi-Skalen-Materialmodellierung. Weiterhin hat Gumbsch im Bereich der Bruch- und Verformungsprozesse viel zum heutigen Verständnis beigetragen, indem er unter anderem Versetzungen genauer untersuchte, die Verformungsprozessen zugrunde liegen. Er hat gezeigt, dass Versetzungen abhängig von der Geschwindigkeit, ein unterschiedliches Verhalten zeigen, indem ihre Bewegung beispielsweise unterschiedlich viel Wärme erzeugt und sogar Überschallgeschwindigkeit erreichen kann.

Landesforschungspreis

 

Mit dem Landesforschungspreis würdigt das Land Baden-Württemberg jährlich Arbeiten aus der Grundlagenforschung und der anwendungsbezogenen Forschung. Dabei wird für beide Bereiche je ein mit 100.000 Euro dotierter Preis vergeben. Ziel ist neben der Würdigung auch das Erreichen eines größeren Bekanntheitsgrades der Forschung in der Öffentlichkeit und die Förderung von Innovationen im Land.

Britta Nestler

Den Preis für Angewandte Forschung erhält Professorin Dr. Britta Nestler im Jahr 2008 für ihre Arbeit in der computergestützten Materialentwicklung mit neuen Simulationstechniken und Modellierungsmethoden, am Institut für Computational Engineering (ICE) der Hochschule Karlsruhe.