Welcome to our institute

The Institute for Applied Materials - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS) is engaged in research, teaching and transfer of knowledge about mechanical, tribological and structural properties of materials and component evaluation. We deal with fundamental as well as application-oriented questions in simulation and experiment.

gumbsch_acatechFoto: Irina Westermann, KIT
Peter Gumbsch is a member of acatech

Professor Peter Gumbsch was accepted as a member of the German Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech). The task of acatech is to advise politics and society on future issues relating to technology science and technology policy.

To the press release
Christian_Greiner_Adolf-Martens-Preis
Christian Greiner receives Adolf Martens Prize

On December 5, 2019, Dr. Christian Greiner was awarded the Adolfs Martens Prize in Berlin for outstanding work in the field of materials research. We congratulate!

To the BAM press release
Christian_GreinerIAM-CMS
Christian Greiner elected as member of the DFG Review Boards

Dr. Christian Greiner was elected member of the review boards of the German Research Foundation (DFG). In this function he will participate as an expert in the field of "Mechanical properties of metallic materials and their microstructural causes" in the evaluation of applications for financial support of research projects.

To the DFG Review Board election

Willkommen an unserem Institut

Das Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Computational Materials Science (IAM-CMS) befasst sich in Forschung, Lehre und Transfer mit den mechanischen, tribologischen und strukturellen Eigenschaften von Werkstoffen und der Bauteilbewertung. Wir beschäftigen uns dabei in der Simulation und im Experiment sowohl mit grundlegenden als auch mit anwendungsorientierten Fragestellungen.

gumbsch_acatechFoto: Irina Westermann, KIT
Peter Gumbsch ist Mitglied der acatech

Professor Peter Gumbsch wurde als Mitglied in die Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech) aufgenommen. Die acatech hat die Aufgabe, die Politik und die Gesellschaft in technikwissenschaftlichen und technologiepolitischen Zukunftsfragen zu beraten.

Zur Pressemitteilung
Christian_Greiner_Adolf-Martens-Preis
Christian Greiner erhält Adolf-Martens-Preis

Am 05.12.2019 wurde Dr. Christian Greiner in Berlin der Adolfs-Martens-Preis für herausragende Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Materialforschung verliehen. Wir gratulieren!

Zur Pressemitteilung des BAM
Christian_GreinerIAM-CMS
Christian Greiner als Mitglied der Fachkollegien der DFG gewählt

Dr. Christian Greiner wurde zum Mitglied der Fachkollegien der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gewählt. Er wird in dieser Funktion als Experte auf dem Fachgebiet "Mechanische Eigenschaften von metallischen Werkstoffen und ihre mikrostrukturellen Ursachen" bei der Bewertung von Anträgen auf finanzielle Förderung von Forschungsvorhaben mitwirken.

Zur DFG-Fachkollegienwahl