Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Synchrotron- and laboratory XRD

For understanding and improving functional materials it is very important to know their crystal structure and structural changes in time or after application of a large number duty cycles.
Bild 1
Fig. 1: Measured PDF of Al0.57Sn0.43O1.71, modeled curve of a nano cluster and difference plot (program package DISCUS).
Bild 2
Fig. 2: in-situ synchrotron diffraction pattern of LNFMO during de-/intercalation with Li measured at the MSPD beamline at the ALBA synchrotron (Barcelona/Spain).
Konfiguration mit Probe und Flächendetektor
Fig. 3: Schematics of a stroboscopic diffraction experiment on a ferroelectric actuator as it is used in fuel injection systems.

Structural effects due to fatigue and aging can be determined and later on used to improve the behavior of the material. Laboratory diffraction is routinely used at IAM-ESS to investigate materials concerning crystallographic phases ex-situ. For non-destructive investigation of materials and devices in-situ or in-operando diffraction techniques can also be used. Since these methods are difficult to implement at laboratory instruments, synchrotron and neutron sources are used. With their increased penetration and resolution much more information can be gathered. IAM-ESS employs scientists at large scale facilities in Germany as PETRA III in Hamburg and MLZ/FRM II in Munich, who, in cooperation with local scientists, operate and develop experimental stations and characterization methods. Moreover, the institute uses numerous other facilities all over Europe for their experiments. The methodical development comprises mostly optimized electrochemical cells for in-situ synchrotron diffraction [1] and configurations for in-operando neutron radiography and tomography. For periodical excitations stroboscopic techniques are used with time resolution down to microseconds [3].

Not only the average structure (long range order) but also short range order/disorder or nano sized materials can be measured with diffraction methods. The total scattering or PDF method (Pair distribution function) considers all contributions from scattering centers in the sample and results in information about the real distances between atoms in disordered or nanostructured materials [4].

Effects as clustering of defects or structural distortion can quantitatively be determined.

A typical representative of a high voltage cathode material is the Ni-Mn Spinel LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4 (LNMO). Figure 2 shows a detail of a synchrotron diffraction pattern of a Fe doped LNMO spinel.

Doping with Fe improves the cyclability of the cathode material. The de-/intercalation of Li into the host matrix cause changes in atomic distances that are identified by a shift of reflections in the diffraction pattern. In contrast to undoped LNMO the Li intercalation in LNFMO is mostly single phase [5].

For fast and periodic processes stroboscopic techniques are used to investigate microstructural changes. Time resolution down to microseconds can be reached. Figure 3 shows this exemplarily with a ferroelectric actuator.

Ferroelectric materials are usually used as actuators, sensors or as data storages. Phase transitions and domain switching lead to mechanical strain under applied electric field and vice versa. The influence of doping or microstructural changes due to fatigue and aging are investigated at synchrotron and neutron sources by application of sinusoidal or rectangular periodic electric fields that are properly synchronized with the detector read out during a diffraction experiment.



Neutron Scattering Experiments

Fig. 1
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Fig. 2
The IAM-ESS has an outstation at the Forschungs-Neutronenquelle Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (FRM II) in Garching near Munich. There our colleagues apply non-destructive testing techniques based on neutron radiation to investigate the processes inside of energy storage systems. In the first instance neutron powder diffraction and neutron imaging methods, namely neutron radiography and neutron tomography, are used. The interaction cross sections of neutrons show a considerable difference to the ones of X-ray of synchrotron radiation. Therefore, neutron methods yield complementary results. In addition, neutrons show large scattering and absorption cross sections for low-Z materials like hydrogen or lithium. Thus, neutrons offer outstanding capabilities for the investigation of state of the art energy storage systems like hydrogen storage materials or lithium-ion-batteries.
Besides monitoring structural changes during charge or discharge, effects caused by aging or fatigue of the storage materials are tracked. Hereby, changes on an atomic length scale are observed by neutron diffraction.

Neutron radiography and neutron tomography on the other hand is based on the analysis of the transmitted neutron intensity after the neutron beam has been attenuated while penetrating the sample. Two-dimensional projections or three-dimensional volume data sets allow for a reconstruction of the macroscopic composition/organisation of the sample on a sub millimeter scale. As most metals show high transmission values for neutrons, the experiments can be carried out in operando under real operating conditions.

The aim of the experiments is to gain more knowledge about the internal processes occurring during the operation of energy storage systems in order to improve their performance. For example the maximum number of cycles, meaning the number of charge and discharge processes, should be increased, which is equivalent to a prolonged life time. It should be pointed out, that well-directed investigations at critical operating conditions may reveal the reasons for failure/breakdown of such storage systems and help to improve their reliability and safety.

Figure 1 shows the results of Rietveld refinement of neutron diffraction data acquired for a 18650 type Li-ion cell, the same type as it is used in many notebook battery packs. Besides the accurate structural information (material symmetry, cell metrics, fractional atomic coordinates) the Rietveld analysis enables to follow the evolution of the electrode materials. Therefore, it is possible to monitor the structural and phase changes at different operating states of the cell. Intercalation and deintercalation of lithium causes, for instance, a volume change which in turn is a reason for micro cracks inside the electrode material and may also result in its delamination. This limits the life time of a battery.

By means of neutron radiography and tomography the exchange of lithium between anode and cathode can be tracked. A decrease or increase of the lithium concentration inside the electrode material alters its absorption behaviour (Fig. 2, stripe like structure on the left), which is reflected by a change of the recorded transmission values. Besides the movement of the lithium one can observe the expansion of the electrodes which, again, comes along with the intercalation of lithium ions.

Experimental equipement:

In addition to the large scale facilities used for the neutron scattering investigations (high-resolution powder diffractometer SPODI, engineering diffractometer STRESS-SPEC, neutron radiography and neutron tomography facilities ANTARES and NECTAR) two potentiostats from Bio-Logic are available for process monitoring and sample preparation, a multi potentiostat VMP3 (4 channels with impedance option, 400mA) and a SP-240 (1 channel with impedance option and internal booster, 4A). Dedicated furnaces or cryostats may be used on the instruments to simulate different operating conditions for the energy storage systems.

An X-ray inspection system v|tome|x s 240 for X-ray radiography and tomography with energies up to 240keV is available at the institute of biomedical physics.

 

Contact:

Dr. Martin Mühlbauer

E-Mail: martin muehlbauerAyy3∂kit edu

Phone: +49 (0)89 289 14373


Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn
E-Mail:anatoliy.senyshyn∂frm2.tum.de
Phone: +49 (0)89 289 14316

 

 

 

References:

  • O. Dolotko, A. Senyshyn, M.J. Mühlbauer, K. Nikolowski, F. Scheiba, H. Ehrenberg, J. Electrochem. Soc. 2012, Volume 159, Issue 12, Pages A2082-A2088.

  • A. Senyshyn, M.J. Mühlbauer, K. Nikolowski, T. Pirling, H. Ehrenberg, J. Power Sources 203 (2012) 126-129.

 


Group Members
Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dr. +49 721 608 28512 mariyam darmaRdt4∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28505 charlotte fritschMzq7∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28507 heinz-robert goebelXva2∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28512 anna-lena hansenFij0∂kit edu
Dr. +49 89 289 14343 michael heereSrm7∂kit edu
+49 721 608 26381 bettina hunzingerAvu5∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28503 beatriz sanchezLkk2∂kit edu
M. Sc. +49 721 608 28502 tianzhu liuKij6∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28510 liuda mereacreCco3∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28504 richard schneiderGjw0∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28511 jiangong zhuFug9∂kit edu
Dr. +49 (0)89 289 12137 samantha zimnikPbz1∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28510 rafael wrambaPpo3∂kit edu

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
IAM Logo

Ansprechpartner
Dr. Michael Knapp
Gruppenleiter Entwicklung von Streumethoden zur Materialcharakterisierung

michael knappYgx4∂kit edu

Tel.: 0721 608-26871

Entwicklung von Streumethoden zur Materialcharakterisierung

Synchrotron- und Labor-Röntgenbeugung
Bild 1
Bild 1: PDF von Al0.57Sn0.43O1.71 und Differenzplot zum modellierten Nanocluster (Programmpaket DISCUS)
Bild 2
Bild 2: In-situ Beugungsdiffraktogramme von LNFMO während der De-/Interkalation von Li gemessen während einer Messzeit am Messplatz MSPD am Synchrotron ALBA in Barcelona/Spanien.
Konfiguration mit Probe und Flächendetektor
Bild 3: Prinzip einer stroboskopischen Diffraktionsmessung an einem Aktor wie er beispielsweise in Einspritzdüsen Verwendung findet.

Eine wichtige Information, um Funktionswerkstoffe verstehen und verbessern zu können, ist die Kenntnis der Kristallstruktur und ihrer Veränderung, sei es über mehrere Arbeitszyklen hinweg, also im aktiven Betrieb, oder bedingt durch eine über einen längeren Zeitraum ablaufende Alterung. Labor-Röntgenbeugung wird routinemäßig am IAM-ESS verwendet, um Materialien ex-situ in Bezug auf ihre kristallographischen Phasen zu untersuchen. Für die zerstörungsfreie Untersuchung kompletter Systeme in situ und in operando werden ebenfalls Beugungsverfahren eingesetzt. Allerdings sind deren Anforderungen nur schwer mit herkömmlichen Laborröntgengeräten umsetzbar. Für derartige Experimente werden wegen ihrer großen Eindringtiefe und dem damit verbundenen Informationsgewinn insbesondere Synchrotron-und Neutronenstrahlung verwendet. Das IAM-ESS beschäftigt zum einen Mitarbeiter an den deutschen Großforschungszentren PETRA III (Hamburg) und MLZ/FRM II (München), die zusammen mit den Verantwortlichen vor Ort neue Methoden zur Materialcharakterisierung entwickeln. Zum anderen nutzt das Institut darüber hinaus zahlreiche andere Einrichtungen dieser Art in Europa. Die methodischen Entwicklungen umfassen unter anderem optimierte Zellen für in situ Synchrotron Beugung [1] sowie Aufbauten die für in operando Neutronenradiographie und -tomographie [2]  zum Einsatz kommen. Für periodische Strukturänderungen werden Stroboskopie Techniken verwendet, die eine Zeitauflösung unter einer Millisekunde ermöglichen [3].

Nicht nur die gemittelte Struktur - Fernordnung -  sondern auch Ordnung und Unordnung mit kurzer Reichweite, bzw. nanokristalline Materialien können mit den verwendeten Beugungsmethoden untersucht werden. Unter Berücksichtigung aller Streubeiträge - Total Scattering - (auch Pair Distribution Function [PDF] Methode genannt) erhält man die Verteilung der Streuzentren in einer Probe (Bild 1) und damit die tatsächlichen Abstände zwischen den Atomen in ungeordneten oder nanokristallinen Materialien [4].

Effekte wie ‚clustering‘ von Fehl- und Leerstellen und Verzerrung von Strukturelementen (z.B. Oktaeder) können mit dieser Methode quantitativ bestimmt werden.

Ein typischer Vertreter eines Hochspannungskathodenmaterials ist der Nickel-Mangan Spinell LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4 (LNMO). Bild 2 zeigt den Ausschnitt eines Synchrotron Beugungsdiagramms eines mit Eisen dotierten Nickel-Mangan-Spinells LiNi0.4Fe0.2Mn1.4O4.

Die Dotierung mit Eisen erhöht dabei die Zyklenstabilität des Kathodenmaterials. Die Ein- und Auslagerung des Lithiums verursacht einer Änderung der interatomaren Abstände, was anhand der Verschiebung der Röntgenreflexe quantifizierbar wird. Im Gegensatz zum undotierten LNMO erfolgt die Li-Interkalation im Wesentlichen einphasig [5].

Für schnelle, periodische Vorgänge werden Stroboskopie-Techniken angewendet, um Veränderungen der Mikrostruktur zu untersuchen. Hierdurch können Zeitauflösungen im Mikrosekundenbereich und darunter erreicht werden. Abbildung 3 zeigt dies beispielhaft für einen ferroelektrischen Aktor.

Ferroelektrische Materialien werden häufig als Aktoren, Sensoren oder Datenspeichermedien verwendet. Phasenübergänge und Domänenumklappen führen zu mechanischen Dehnung unter elektrischem Feld und umgekehrt. Der Einfluss von Dotierung auf das mechanische Verhalten oder auch Gefügeänderungen aufgrund von Ermüdung werden an Synchrotron oder Neutronenquellen durch Anlegen eines periodischen sinus- oder rechteckförmigen elektrischen Feldes untersucht, das mit der Auslesung des Detektors korrekt synchronisiert sein muss (Torzeit gesteuerte Detektorauslesung).

 

Literatur:

  1. M. Herklotz, J. Weiss, E. Ahrens, M. Yavuz, L. Mereacre, N. Kiziltas-Yavuz, C. Draeger, H. Ehrenberg, J. Eckert, F. Fauth, L. Giebeler, M. Knapp
    A novel high throughput setup for in situ powder diffraction on coin cell batteries
    J. Appl. Cryst. 49 (2016) 340–34.
  2. E. Calzada, F. Gruenauer, M. Muehlbauer, B. Schillinger, M. Schulz
    New design for the ANTARES-II facility for neutron imaging at FRM II
    NIM A 605 (2009) 50-53.
  3. H. Choe, S. Gorfman, M. Hinterstein, M. Ziolkowski, M. Knapp, S. Heidbrink, M. Vogt, J. Bednarcik, H. Ehrenberg, U. Pietsch
    Combining high time and angular resolutions: time-resolved X-ray powder diffraction using a multi-channel analyser detector.
    J. Appl. Cryst. 48 (2015) 970-974.
  4. M. Yavuz, M. Knapp, S. Indris, M. Hinterstein,W. Donner, H. Ehrenberg
    X-ray Total Scattering Investigation of Al0.57Sn0.43O1.71 Nanoparticles
    J. Appl. Cryst 48 (2015) 1699-1705.
  5. M. Yavuz, N. Kiziltas-Yavuz, A. Bhaskar, M. Scheuermann, S. Indris, F. Fauth, M. Knapp, H. Ehrenberg
    Influence of Fe on the structural evolution of LiNi0.4Fe0.2Mn1.4O4 during electrochemical
    cycling investigated by in situ powder diffraction and spectroscopic methods
    Z. Anorg. Allg. Chem. 640 (2014) 3118–3126.

Untersuchungsmethoden mit Neutronen

Fig. 1
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Fig. 2

Das IAM-ESS besitzt eine Außenstelle an der Forschungs-Neutronenquelle Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (FRM II) in Garching bei München. Dort verwenden unsere Mitarbeiter Neutronenstrahlung zur zerstörungsfreien Prüfung der Abläufe im Inneren von Energiespeichersystemen. Zur Anwendung kommen vor allem die Methoden der Neutronenpulverdiffraktion und die bildgebenden Verfahren der Neutronenradiographie und –tomographie. Da sich die Wechselwirkungsquerschnitte von Neutronen in der Regel deutlich von denen der Röntgenstrahlung unterscheiden, eignen sie sich ideal als komplementäre Methode zu Röntgen- oder Synchrotronexperimenten. Zudem ist ihr Streuquerschnitt bzw. Absorptionsquerschnitt bei leichten Atomen wie Wasserstoff und Lithium deutlich höher, was sie für Untersuchungen an aktuellen Energiespeichermaterialien wie Wasserstoffspeichern und Lithium-Ionen-Batterien prädestiniert.

Untersucht werden neben strukturellen Änderungen während der Lade- und Entladeprozesse auch Einflüsse aufgrund von Alterung- und Ermüdung der Speichermaterialien. Mittels Neutronendiffraktion können diese Veränderungen auf einer atomaren Längenskala beobachtet werden.

Bei der Neutronenradiographie und Neutronentomographie hingegen basiert die Analyse auf der Auswertung der transmittierten und durch die Probe abgeschwächten Intensität. Die resultierenden zweidimensionalen Projektionen bzw. dreidimensionalen Volumendatensätze erlauben es den makroskopischen Aufbau der Proben im Submillimeterbereich  zu rekonstruieren.
Da die meisten Metalle eine sehr hohe Transmission für Neutronen aufweisen, können die Messungen in operando, also unter realen Betriebsbedingungen, durchgeführt werden.

Ziel der Untersuchungen ist es ein besseres Verständnis für die internen Abläufe während des Betriebs zu gewinnen, um anschließend das Verhalten der Energiespeicher zu verbessern. So soll die Zahl der Betriebszyklen, also der Lade- und Endladevorgänge von Energiespeichern gesteigert werden, was einer längeren Lebensdauer der Systeme entspricht. Die Untersuchung und Aufklärung der Kristallstruktur der Elektrodenmaterialien ermöglicht deren elektrochemische Optimierung, sowie die Verbesserung ihrer strukturellen Stabilität, was letztlich Speicherkapazität und Lebensdauer erhöht. Nicht außer Acht gelassen werden darf, dass durch gezielte Untersuchungen unter kritischen Betriebsparametern die Ursachen für Systemversagen (brennende Laptops) aufgedeckt und die Sicherheit der Batterie erhöht werden kann.

Bild 1 zeigt die Rietveld-Analyse von Neutronenbeugungsdaten durchgeführt an einer Zelle vom Typ 18650, wie er z.B. in Notebooks verwendet wird. Die Rietveld-Analyse ermöglicht die quantitative Bestimmung der Phasenanteile in den Elektrodenmaterialien und somit auch das Nachvollziehen von Phasenumwandlungen bei unterschiedlichen Betriebszuständen. Die Ein- und Auslagerung von Lithium führt unter anderem zu einer Volumenänderung, die Mikrobrüche im Material oder Delamination verursachen kann. Dies begrenzt die Lebensdauer der Batterie. [1]

Mit Hilfe der Neutronenradiographie und –tomographie lässt sich der Austausch von Lithiumionen zwischen Anode und Kathode verfolgen. Die Ab- bzw. Zunahme der Lithiumkonzentration im Elektrodenmaterial ändert dessen Absorptionsverhalten (Bild 2, Streifenmuster im linken Bild), was sich im gemessenen Transmissionssignal wiederspiegelt (siehe auch [2]). Neben dem Wandern der Lithiumladungsträger ist auch eine Ausdehnung der Elektroden zu beobachten, welche mit der Volumenänderung beim Einlagern von Lithimionen einhergeht.

Experimentelle Ausstattung:

Neben den Großgeräten zur Untersuchung mit Neutronenstrahlung (Pulverdiffraktometer SPODI, Diffraktometer STRESS-SPEC, Neutronradiographie und –tomographieanlagen ANTARES und NECTAR) stehen für die Prozessüberwachung ein Multipotentiostat VMP-3 von Bio-Logic (4 Kanäle mit Impedanzfunktion, 400mA) und Potentiostat SP-240 (1 Kanal, interner Bootster 4A, Impedanzfunktion) zur Verfügung. Während des Messbetriebs an den Instrumenten können spezielle Öfen und Kryostaten genutzt werden um den Betrieb der Energiespeichersysteme bei unterschiedlichen Temperaturen simulieren zu können.

Zusätzlich kann ein Röntgenprüfsystem v|tome|x s 240 für Röntgenradiographie und –tomographieaufnahmen im Energieberiech bis 240keV genutzt werden.

 

Ansprechpartner:


Dr. Martin Mühlbauer

E-Mail:martin muehlbauerJsn0∂kit edu

Telefon: +49 (0)89 289 14373

 

Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn
E-Mail:anatoliy.senyshyn∂frm2.tum.de
Telefon: +49 (0)89 289 14316




Referenzen:

[1] O. Dolotko, A. Senyshyn, M.J. Mühlbauer, K. Nikolowski, F. Scheiba, H. Ehrenberg,  J. Electrochem. Soc. 2012, Volume 159, Issue 12, Pages A2082-A2088.

[2] A. Senyshyn, M.J. Mühlbauer, K. Nikolowski, T. Pirling, H. Ehrenberg, J. Power Sources 203 (2012) 126-129.



 


Gruppenmitglieder
Name Titel Tel. E-Mail
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28506 geethu balachandranYex2∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28507 heinz-robert goebelVqo3∂kit edu
Dr. +49 89 289 14343 michael heereHkc4∂kit edu
+49 721 608 26381 bettina hunzingerKsr3∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28510 liuda mereacreYph6∂kit edu
Dr. +49 89 289 14373 martin muehlbauerQfs6∂kit edu
+49 721 608 28504 richard schneiderFye5∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28509 murat yavuzYfn9∂kit edu
Dr. +49 (0)89 289 12137 samantha zimnikXtr8∂kit edu