Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
width="160"
indris_s
Contact
Dr. Sylvio Indris
Section Head Functional Composite Materials

sylvio indrisJmf8∂kit edu

Tel.: 0721 608-28508

Functional Composite Materials

In our group, chemists, physicists, and materials scientists investigate materials that can serve as electrode or electrolyte materials for energy storage systems.
7Li-NMR-Spektren
7Li MAS NMR spectra of LiCoO2 at different lithiation states and cycle numbers revealing the highly reversible oxidation/reduction of Co3+/4+ and also the overlithiated states in the as-prepared sample and after deep discharge.
7Li-MAS-NMR-Messungen
7Li MAS NMR measurements on Li4Ti5O12 for different lithiation states revealing the reversible rearrangement of Li ions in the spinel structure (8a ® 16c) during Li insertion/removal.
7Li-NMR-Spektren
Temperature dependence of static 7Li NMR spectra of a LiAlO2 single crystal revealing the Li motion with hopping rates between 7.9∙103 and 1.6∙106 s-1

Different synthesis techniques are used, e.g. precipitation methods, solvo-/hydrothermal reactions, sol-gel techniques, and solid-state routes. Nanocomposites consisting of carbon nanofibers decorated with oxide materials are prepared by electro-spinning.

One focus is on rechargeable Li-ion batteries. The aim is to elucidate the electrochemical reaction mechanisms that occur during insertion and removal of Li into/from the electrode materials and that are responsible for function and degradation of the batteries. Besides standard battery testing we use solid-state NMR spectroscopy, Mössbauer spectroscopy, X-ray absorption spectroscopy, and diffraction methods to study the changes in the local/long-range structure of the host materials as well as the mobility of the Li ions. Finally, the results of these fundamental studies are used for optimization of the materials with respect to the battery performance.

Further projects are dealing with the proton and oxygen ion mobility in electrolytes for PEM and SOFC fuel cells, respectively. This mobility is investigated with temperature-dependent 1H/2H and 17O NMR spectroscopy and relaxation time measurements.

[1] N. Schweikert, R. Heinzmann, A. Eichhöfer, H. Hahn, S. Indris, Solid State Ionics 226, 15 (2012).

[2] H. Hain, R. Heinzmann, M. Scheuermann, L. Wünsche, H. Hahn, S. Indris, Solid State Nucl. Magn. Reson. 42, 9 (2012).

[3] S. Indris, P. Heitjans, R. Uecker, B. Roling, J. Phys. Chem. C 116, 14243 (2012).


Electro-spinning

Preparation of electrodes by electrospinning
Elektrospinning1
Laboratory scale electrospinning device
Elektrospinning2
An example for an electrospun fibre network.

Electrodes for electrochemical devices have to fulfill several functions. First of all, they provide matrices for the active species, e.g. lithium in Li-ion batteries. Secondly, they conduct electrons as well as reaction species allowing the access of reactants and the exit of products. A material, which has been successfully applied as the support material in fuel cells and Li-ion batteries is the electroconducting polymer PANI. However, the effect of support morphology - leaving the chemistry unchanged - on the electrochemical performance has not been investigated in detail, so far.

In this project, electrospinning is used as a method to obtain (aligned) polymer fibre networks in a controlled way. These are carbonized and impregnated using different potential electrode materials in order to allow for an intimate contact between electron and Li conducting phase. Using this combination, cathode materials which are not suitable for an application due to their low intrinsic electronic conductivity shall be applied for Li-ion batteries. Sophisticated methods are used to unravel the interaction between the different phases and the microstructure of the electrode.


Group Members
Name Title Phone E-Mail
M.Sc. +49 711 811 8896 nadine dannehlMwq5∂partner kit edu
Dipl.-Chem. +49 721 608 28502 lars esmezjanCtx7∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28502 ruth gieseckePzr1∂partner kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28509 weibo huaYmp8∂partner kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28509 xinyang liuCdu6∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 23161 luo xianlinKuo3∂partner kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28508 bjoern schwarzVxo9∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28502 heike stoefflerNyk6∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28511 tatiana zinkevichAkv6∂kit edu

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
IAM Logo
SI
Ansprechpartner
Dr. Sylvio Indris
Gruppenleiter Funktionelle Komposit-materialien

sylvio indrisLkg9∂kit edu

Tel.: 0721 608-28508

Funktionelle Kompositmaterialien

In unserer Gruppe untersuchen Chemiker, Physiker und Materialwissenschaftler Materialien, die als Elektroden/Elektrolyte in Energiespeichersystemen (Batterien, Brennstoffzellen, …) eingesetzt werden können.
7Li-NMR-Spektren
7Li-MAS-NMR-Spektren von LiCoO2 bei verschiedenen Lithiierungsgraden und Zyklenzahlen. Man erkennt die hochreversible Oxidation/Reduktion von Co3+/4+ und auch den überlithiierten Zustand im Ausgangsmaterial und im tiefentladenen Zustand.
7Li-MAS-NMR-Messungen
7Li-MAS-NMR-Messungen an Li4Ti5O12 für verschiedene Lithiierungszustände, welche die reversible Umordnung der Li-Ionen in der Spinell-Struktur (8a ® 16c) während des Li-Ein-/Ausbaus offenbaren.
7Li-NMR-Spektren
7Li-NMR-Spektren eines LiAlO2-Einkristalls als Funktion der Temperatur. Aus der Koaleszenz der Quadrupolsatelliten lässt sich die Bewegung der Li-Ionen mit Hüpfraten zwischen 7.9∙103 und 1.6∙106 s-1 ablesen.

 Dabei werden verschiedene Synthesemethoden eingesetzt, u.a. Ko-Fällungsreaktionen, Sol-Gel-Methoden, Hydro-/Solvothermale Synthesen und Festkörperreaktionen. Nanokomposite bestehend aus Kohlenstoff-Nanofasern, welche mit oxidischen Aktivmaterialien dekoriert sind, werden durch Elektro-Spinning hergestellt.

Ein Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeiten liegt dabei auf Li-Ionen-Batterien. Das Ziel dabei ist das Verständnis der zu Grunde liegenden elektrochemischen Reaktionsmechanismen, welche beim Ein-/Ausbau in die Elektrodenmaterialien auftreten und welche für die Funktion und die Degradation der Batterien verantwortlich sind. Neben Standard-Batterietests verwenden wir Festkörper-NMR-Spektroskopie, Mössbauerspektroskopie, Röntgenabsorptionsspektroskopie und Beugungsmethoden, um die Veränderungen in der lokalen/langreichweitigen Struktur der Wirtsmaterialien und auch die Mobilität der Li-Ionen zu studieren. Abschließend  werden die Ergebnisse dieser grundlegenden Untersuchungen genutzt, um die Materialien in Bezug auf die Batterieeigenschaften zu optimieren.

Weitere Projekte beschäftigen sich mit der Protonen- und Sauerstoffionenmobilität in Elektrolyten, wie sie in SOFC- bzw. PEM-Brennstoffzellen eingesetzt werden. Diese Mobilität wird mit Hilfe von temperaturabhängiger 1H/2H- und 17O-NMR-Spektroskopie und -Relaxometrie untersucht.

 

 

[1] N. Schweikert, R. Heinzmann, A. Eichhöfer, H. Hahn, S. Indris, Solid State Ionics 226, 15 (2012).

[2] H. Hain, R. Heinzmann, M. Scheuermann, L. Wünsche, H. Hahn, S. Indris, Solid State Nucl. Magn. Reson. 42, 9 (2012).

[3] S. Indris, P. Heitjans, R. Uecker, B. Roling, J. Phys. Chem. C 116, 14243 (2012).


Elektrospinning

Herstellung von Elektroden durch Elektrospinning
Elektrospinning_1
Laborgerät für das Elektrospinning.
Elektrospinning_2
Ein Beispiel für ein mittels Elektrospinning hergestelltes Fasernetzwerk.

Elektroden für elektrochemische Anwendungen müssen verschiedene Funktionen erfüllen. So bilden sie die Matrix für die aktiven Spezies, beispielsweise für Lithium in Lithiuionen-Batterien. Außerdem müssen sie eine gute elektronische Leitfähigkeit aufweisen. Ein Material, welches erfolgreich als Trägermaterial in Brennstoffzellen und Lithiumionen-Batterien eingesetzt wurde, ist das elektrisch leitfähige Polymer PANI. Allerdings wurde der Einfluss der Morphologie – bei unveränderten chemischen Eigenschaften – auf die elektrochemischen Eigenschaften bisher nicht untersucht.

In diesem Projekt werden Netzwerke aus Polymeren in einem kontrollierten Prozess mittels Elektrospinning hergestellt. Diese werden Carbonisiert und mit verschiedenen Aktivmaterialien (bzw. Prokursoren) imprägniert, um einen optimalen Kontakt zwischen Elektronen- und Lithiumleitender Phase herzustellen. Durch diese Kombination sollen auch Materialien, die eine für eine Anwendung zu niedrige intrinsische Leitfähigkeit aufweisen, für Lithiumionen-Zellen verwendet werden. Durch geeignete Charakterisierungsmethoden werden das Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen Phasen und die Mikrostruktur der Elektroden im Detail analysiert.


Gruppenmitglieder
Name Titel Tel. E-Mail
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28502 weibo huaEmv6∂partner kit edu
Dipl.-Chem. +49 721 608 28505 christoph draegerEwo1∂kit edu
Dipl.-Chem. +49 721 608 28926 lars esmezjanUfr3∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28509 michael langHcs6∂kit edu
Dr. +49 721 608 28508 bjoern schwarzKvs7∂kit edu
M.Sc. +49 721 608 28506 florian sigelMul0∂kit edu