Institute for Applied Materials - Electrochemical Technologies (IAM-ET)

Fuel Cells and Electrolyzers (FCE)

Electrochemical energy conversion in fuel cells and electrolyzers

The Fuel Cells and Electrolysis group´s research is related to the electrochemical and microstructural characterization and modeling of fuel cells and electrolyzers. Our approach covers multiple scales from the porous electrode structure to the system level.

We analyze the physicochemical processes taking place in the cell and correlate them to material and microstructural features, cell and stack design as well as operating parameters. The focus is on cell, repeat unit and stack-testing, applying realistic operating conditions in specialized test benches or even testing in the system. Currently, the focus is on high-temperature solid oxide cells (SOC), operated in both solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) and solid oxide electrolyzer cell (SOEC) modes, and on polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells (PEMFC) for mobile applications.

For the evaluation of the processes taking place in the cells, stationary (IV-curves, long-term tests) and dynamic measurement methods (impedance spectroscopy, NFRA) are used. For further investigations operando gas analysis (µGC, MS), structural (XRD), microscopic (SEM, light and laser microscopy) and tomographic methods (FIB-REM, µCT) are available.

Modeling is performed on multiple scales - from spatially resolved 3D models of porous electrodes, homogenized 0 and 1D electrode and cell models, 2 and 3D FEM models for cells and stacks to models for fuel cell systems. In modeling, the focus is on experimentally based parameterization, impedance analysis via the distribution function of relaxation times and physicochemical equivalent circuits provide the model structure and the required model parameters to describe transport processes and electrochemical reactions in the cell. Validation as an essential part of modeling is performed via complementary measurements.

Simulations provide information about non-measurable state variables in the cell, stack or system, reveal the behavior of new electrode-, cell- and stack-designs and enable the virtual integration of new components into a system.

contact: Dr.-Ing. André Weber

further information
projects
staff
student theses

Bild
SOC test benches at IAM-ET

Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Elektrochemische Technologien (IAM-ET)

Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyse

Elektrochemische Energiewandlung in Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseuren

Die AG Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyse beschäftigt sich mit der elektrochemischen und mikrostrukturellen Charakterisierung und Modellierung von Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseuren auf verschiedenen Skalen.

Ziel der experimentellen Untersuchungen ist das Verständnis der in der Zelle ablaufenden Prozesse sowie die Korrelation dieser mit dem Zell- und Stackdesign, mikrostrukturellen Kenngrößen und Betriebsparametern. Im Fokus stehen Tests von Zellen, Wiederholeinheiten und Stacks unter systemnahen Bedingungen wie auch im System selbst. Aktuell liegen die Schwerpunkte bei Hochtemperatur-Festelektrolytzellen für den stationären Einsatz (SOC: Solid Oxide Cell), die sowohl im Brennstoffzellen (SOFC: Solid Oxide Fuel Cell) als auch im Elektrolysemodus (SOEC: Solid Oxide Electrolyzer Cell) betrieben werden können, und bei Polymerelektrolytmembran-Brennstoffzellen (PEMFC: Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cell) für den mobilen Einsatz.

Zur messtechnischen Auflösung der in den Zellen ablaufenden Prozesse kommen stationäre (Kennlinien, Langzeittests) und dynamische Messmethoden (Impedanzspektroskopie, NFRA) zum Einsatz. Für weitere Untersuchungen stehen operando Gasanalytik (µGC, MS), strukturelle (XRD), mikroskopische (REM, Licht- und Lasermikroskopie) und tomographische Verfahren (FIB-REM, µCT) zur Verfügung.

Die Modellierung erfolgt auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen – von räumlich aufgelösten 3D-Modellen poröser Elektroden über homogenisierte 0 und 1D Elektroden- und Zellmodelle, 2 und 3D FEM Modelle für Zellen und Stacks bis hin zu Modellen für Brennstoffzellen-Systeme. In der Modellierung steht die experimentell basierte Parametrierung im Zentrum, die Impedanzanalyse über die Verteilungsfunktion der Relaxationszeiten und physikochemische Ersatzschaltbilder liefern Modellstruktur und Modellparameter zur Beschreibung von Transportprozesse und elektrochemische Reaktionen in der Zelle. Die Validierung als essentieller Bestandteil der Modellierung erfolgt über komplementäre Messungen.

Simulationen liefern Informationen über nicht messbare Zustandsgrößen in der Zelle, ermöglichen die Vorhersage des Verhaltens neuer Zell-, Mikrostruktur und Materialdesigns wie auch die Möglichkeit der virtuellen Integration eines neuen Zelltyps in ein System.

Ansprechpartner: Dr.-Ing. André Weber

 

Bild
SOC Prüfstände am IAM-ET