Electrocatalysis

Our research interest is the investigation of electrochemical reactions at the solid-liquid interface at electrodes. In particular, we focus on the interplay of electrode kinetics, mass transfer, fluid dynamics, material properties and product formation during electrochemical reactions. By combining physico-chemical models and experimental investigations in the laboratory, we identify and analyze the electrocatalytic processes and derive fundamental and technically relevant insights into the interaction of the processes and their operating limits, which are relevant for the further development of these future-oriented technologies.

In our laboratory, we combine online diagnostic and dynamic experimental methods to gain valuable information about the electrochemical cell and its processes. With our dynamic analysis approach, we are able to decompose complex electrochemical processes into their individual subprocesses by differentiating their time constants and analyzing them separately. In this way, we are able to identify limiting processes and relevant parameters more precisely than is possible with conventional methods. We achieve this in particular with the support of model-based analysis and simulations.

Our most important experimental techniques are: cyclic voltammetry (CV), rotating disk electrode (RDE) experiments, electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS), nonlinear impedance spectroscopy (NFRA), differential electrochemical mass spectrometry (DEMS), gas or liquid chromatography coupled with mass spectrometry (HS-GC-MS, HPLC-MS), surface enhanced infrared absorption spectroscopy (ATR-SEIRAS) and UV-Vis spectroscopy.

Using our model-based approach, we systematically analyze electrochemical processes from the microkinetic to the macrokinetic scale, including mass transport. Experimentally validated reaction kinetics as well as thermodynamic energy values (from DFT) form the basis for our physicochemical models and simulations. We apply rigorous mathematical optimization strategies to systematically improve processes or perform scenario-based analyses to determine operating parameters and process conditions.

Open positions and bachelor and master theses in our working group can be found here.

Contact: Dr. Philipp Röse (Group Leader)

Bild
Electrocatalysis
Bild
ATR-SEIRAS
Bild
Modelling

Current research topics

Topic Contact
Structure-performance relationships of Ir-Ru electrodes for oxygen evolution reaction (OER) during dynamic operation (DFG Priority Programm SPP2080) M.Sc. Janis Geppert
Multi-scale analysis of complex three-phase systems: O2 and CO2 reduction at silver-based gas-diffusion electrodes in aqueous electrolyte (DFG Research Unit 2397)
M.Sc. Inga Dorner
Carbon dioxide reduction reaction (CO2RR) on copper-based electrocatalysts (Helmholtz-Program MTET; Topic 3, Subtopic 2: Power-based Fuels and Chemicals) Dr. Philipp RöseM.Sc. Niklas OppelM.Sc. Ruth Witzel
Dynamic kinetic multi-scale analysis of IrO2 electrodes for oxygen evolution reaction (OER) in PEM-electrolysis under technical-realistic operation conditions (H2Giga) M.Sc. Gözde Kardes

Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Elektrochemische Technologien (IAM-ET)

Elektrokatalyse

Unser Forschungsinteresse gilt der Untersuchung elektrochemischer Reaktionen an der Fest-Flüssig-Grenzfläche an Elektroden. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns insbesondere auf das Zusammenspiel von Elektrodenkinetik, Massentransfer, Fluiddynamik, Materialeigenschaften und Produktbildung bei elektrochemischen Reaktionen. Durch die Kombination von physikalisch-chemischen Modellen und experimentellen Untersuchungen im Labor identifizieren und analysieren wir die elektrokatalytischen Prozesse und leiten daraus fundamentale und technisch relevante Erkenntnisse über die Wechselwirkung der Prozesse und deren Betriebsgrenzen ab, die für die Weiterentwicklung dieser zukunftsweisenden Technologien relevant sind.

In unserem Labor kombinieren wir Online-Diagnose- und dynamische experimentelle Methoden, um wertvolle Informationen über die elektrochemische Zelle und ihre Prozesse zu gewinnen. Mit unserem dynamischen Analyseansatz sind wir in der Lage, komplexe elektrochemische Prozesse durch Differenzierung ihrer Zeitkonstanten in ihre einzelnen Teilprozesse zu zerlegen und separat zu analysieren. Auf diese Weise sind wir in der Lage, limitierende Prozesse sowie relevante Parameter präziser zu identifizieren, als dies mit herkömmlichen Methoden möglich ist. Dies gelingt uns insbesondere mit der Unterstützung modellbasierter Analyse und Simulationen.

Unsere wichtigsten experimentellen Techniken sind: zyklische Voltammetrie (CV), rotierende Scheibenelektroden Experimente (RDE), elektrochemische Impedanzspektroskopie (EIS), nichtlineare Impedanzspektroskopie (NFRA), differentielle elektrochemische Massenspektrometrie (DEMS), Gaschromatographie, oberflächenverstärkte Infrarot-Absorptionsspektroskopie (ATR-SEIRAS) und UV-Vis-Spektroskopie.

Mit unserem modellbasierten Ansatz analysieren wir systematisch elektrochemische Prozesse von der mikrokinetischen bis zur makrokinetischen Skala, einschließlich des Massentransports. Experimentell validierte Reaktionskinetik sowie thermodynamische Energiewerte (aus der DFT) bilden die Grundlage für unsere physikalisch-chemischen Modelle und Simulationen. Wir setzen rigorose mathematische Optimierungsstrategien ein, um Prozesse systematisch zu verbessern oder führen Szenario-basierte Analysen durch, um Betriebsparameter und Prozessbedingungen zu ermitteln. 

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Philipp Röse (Gruppenleiter)

Bild
Elektrochemische Zelle
Bild
ATR-SEIRAS
Bild
Modellierung

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

Thema Kontakt
Struktur-Performance-Beziehungen von Ir-Ru-Elektroden für die Sauerstoffentwicklung (OER) im dynamischen Betrieb (DFG Schwerpunktprogramm SPP2080) M.Sc. Janis Geppert
Multiskalen-Analyse komplexer Dreiphasensysteme: O2- und CO2-Reduktion an Ag-Gasdiffusionselektroden in wässrigem Elektrolyt (DFG-Forschergruppe 2397) M.Sc. Inga Dorner
Kohlendioxid-Reduktionsreaktion (CO2RR) an Elektrokatalysatoren auf Kupferbasis (Helmholtz-Programm MTET; Topic 3, Subtopic 2: Power-based Fuels and Chemicals) Dr. Philipp RöseM.Sc. Niklas Oppel