Institute for Applied Materials - Electrochemical Technologies (IAM-ET)

Microstructure and Material Characterization

REM

The research group Microstructure and Material Characterization deals with the application and adaptation of high-resolution tomographic and microscopic methods for the characterization of materials and electrical components, especially in the field of electrochemical energy storage devices and converters.

These methods enable both high-resolution 2D images and 3D reconstructions of the real microstructure of electrical components and thus form the basis for a deep understanding of the processes (e.g. transport processes) in these components. Furthermore, these methods create the basis for a model-based component optimization, as the knowledge of the real microstructure allows a correlation of functionality and performance of the components with structural parameters. For the three-dimensional material/structure analysis, an electron microscope with high-resolution FIB tomography and a micro X-ray tomography (µ-CT) are available at the institute.

Additional work focuses on the development of suitable preparation methods for optimal imaging as well as the processing and preparation of image data. The IAM-ET has experience in 3D reconstructions of a wide variety of materials and components and has successfully applied microstructure results to improve electrical components such as batteries and fuel cells.

Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Elektrochemische Technologien (IAM-ET)

Mikrostruktur- und Materialcharakterisierung

REM Janina

Die Arbeitsgruppe Mikrostruktur- und Materialcharakterisierung beschäftigt sich mit der Anwendung und Adaption hochauflösender tomografischer und mikroskopischer Verfahren zur Charakterisierung von Werkstoffen und elektrischen Bauteilen insbesondere im Bereich elektrochemischer Energiespeicher und Wandler.

Die genannten Verfahren ermöglichen sowohl hochaufgelöste 2D-Aufnahmen, als auch eine 3D-Rekonstruktion der realen Mikrostruktur von elektrischen Bauteilen und bilden somit die Basis für ein tiefes Verständnis der Prozesse (beispielsweise der Transportvorgänge) in diesen Komponenten. Weiterhin schaffen diese Verfahren die Basis für eine modellgestützte Bauteiloptimierung, indem die Kenntnis der realen Mikrostruktur eine Korrelation von Funktionalität und Performance der Bauteile mit Strukturparametern erlauben. Für die dreidimensionale Material/Strukturanalyse stehen der Arbeitsgruppe ein Elektronenmikroskop mit hochauflösender FIB-Tomographie und eine Mikroröntgentomographie (µ-CT) am Institut zur Verfügung.

Zusätzliche Arbeitsschwerpunkte bilden die Entwicklung geeigneter Präparationsmethoden für eine optimale Bildgebung sowie die Verarbeitung und Aufbereitung von Bilddaten. Das IAM-ET hat Erfahrung in der 3D-Rekonstruktionen von unterschiedlichsten Materialien und Bauteilen und konnte Mikrostrukturergebnisse erfolgreich für die Verbesserung elektrischer Bauteile wie Batterien und Brennstoffzellen einsetzten.

 

Ansprechpartner Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Menesklou