IAM - Materials for Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Address

Institute for Applied Materials - Materials for Electrical and Electronic Engineering (IAM-WET)
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Forschungszentrum Umwelt (FZU)
Adenauerring 20b, Building 50.40
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Phone: +49/721/608-47491
Fax: +49/721/608-47492

Arrival by car

Leave the motorway A5 at the Exit 44 Karlsruhe-Durlach. If you are coming from Frankfurt or Basel, you are already on the A5; if you are coming from Stuttgart / Munich, you will need to change from A8 onto A5 at the junction Karlsruhe and head into the direction of Frankfurt (next exit).


Take the
B10 in the direction of Karlsruhe (not Karlsruhe-Durlach!). Take a right at the 5th set of traffic lights ("Durlacher Tor") which is at St.-Bernhard Church (built of red limestone), the signs there read: "Neureut/Universität/Stadion". You are now on Adenauerring and having passed under a pedestrians' bridge, take the next right onto the site of the Forschungszentrum Umwelt. There is parking space in front of the complex to the left.

The institute is situated in the rear building on the 3rd floor.

 

 

 

Arrival by train

Karlsruhe has hourly EC/IC-services in direction of Mannheim/Cologne and Freiburg/Basel. In Mannheim and Stuttgart, there are connections to ICE services. Train connections are available over the internet from the electronic timetable of the German National Rail Service

Arriving at the Karlsruhe main station, it is possible to travel to the institute by taxi or public transport.

If you would like to take a taxi from Karlsruhe main station to the institute, you find a taxi rank on the left hand side leaving the main station through the main entrance.  After a short ride (about 10 minutes) to the above mentioned address you will arrive at the institute (about Euro 11). The institute is located in the rear building on the 3rd floor.

If you would like to take public transport reaching the institute, you have to leave Karlsruhe main station by the main entrance. Take the tram lines no. 2 (direction "Wolfartsweier") or  S4 (direction "Bretten Gölshausen") which leave from the square in front of the main station to Durlacher Tor. Lines 2 and S4 head "right" as seen from the main station. You need a ticket for 2 zones (Euro 2,30) which should be stamped either before boarding or inside the tram. Get off the tram at Durlacher Tor. (the tram ride takes about 10 min.) Follow Adenauerring, passing by the botanical garden. Having passed under a pedestrians' bridge, take the next exit onto the site of the Forschungszentrum Umwelt (10 min by foot). The institute is situated in the rear building on the 3rd floor. You find further information on the public transportation system on the WWW-Server of the Karlsruher Verkehrsverbund.

 

 

 

 

Arrival by plane

The closest airports are Frankfurt/Main, Stuttgart and Strasbourg.

It takes about 60 minutes by train from Frankfurt/Airport, Stuttgart and Strasbourg to Karlsruhe. Train connections can be booked online on the website of the German National Rail Service.

Information about Karlsruhe

A detailed city map of Karlsruhe and further information about the city are provided online by the municipal administration.

Accommodations in Karlsruhe

A small selection of different hotels in Karlsruhe is given below:

Hotel am Markt Karlsruhe

Hotel Novotel Karlsruhe City

Lecturer’s Guest House Heinrich Hertz

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Hausanschrift

Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Werkstoffe der Elektrotechnik (IAM-WET)
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Forschungszentrum Umwelt (FZU)
Adenauerring 20b, Gebäude 50.40
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel: +49/721/608-47491
Fax: +49/721/608-47492

Anreise mit dem PKW

Sie verlassen die A5 an der Anschlußstelle Nr. 44 Karlsruhe-Durlach. Von Frankfurt bzw. Basel kommend befinden Sie sich bereits auf der A5; wenn Sie von Stuttgart / München kommen, wechseln Sie zunächst von der A8 am Autobahn-Dreieck Karlsruhe auf die A5 in Richtung Frankfurt.

 

Die Anschlußstelle Nr. 44 ist gebaut wie ein Autobahnkreuz. Sie fahren dort auf die B10 in Richtung Karlsruhe (nicht Karlsruhe-Durlach!). Biegen Sie an der 5. Ampelkreuzung ("Durlacher Tor") an der St.-Bernhard-Kirche (aus rotem Sandstein) rechts ab (eigene Rechtsabbiegerspur); die Beschilderung an dieser Stelle lautet: "Neureut / Universität / Stadion". Sie fahren nun auf dem Adenauerring.
 
Nachdem Sie eine Fußgängerbrücke unterquert haben, biegen Sie bei der ersten Möglichkeit nach rechts auf das Gelände des Forschungszentrums Umwelt ein. Die Parkplätze befinden sich links vor dem vorderen Gebäude. Das IAM-WET befindet sich im rückwärtigen Gebäude im dritten Stockwerk.

Anreise mit dem Zug

Karlsruhe hat stündliche EC/IC-Verbindungen in Richtung Mannheim, Köln und Freiburg, Basel. Aktuelle Zugverbindungen erhalten Sie im Internet von der elektronischen Fahrplanauskunft der Deutschen Bahn.  

Nach Ankunft am Karlsruher Hauptbahnhof haben Sie die Möglichkeit ihre Reise mittels Taxi oder mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln fortzusetzen.

Taxi:

Beim Verlassen des Hauptbahnhofs durch den Haupteingang finden Sie zu Ihrer Linken einen Taxistand. Nach kurzer Fahrt (ca. 10 min), zu der oben genannten Institutsadresse, erreichen Sie das Institut (ca. 11 €). Die IAM-WET Räumlichkeiten befinden sich im dritten Stockwerk des rückwärtigen Gebäudes.

 

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel:

Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof verlassen Sie durch den Haupteingang. Am Bahnhofvorplatz nehmen Sie eine Straßenbahn der Linien 2 (Richtung Wolfartsweier) oder S4 (Richtung Bretten Gölshausen) und fahren bis zur Haltestelle Durlacher Tor. Sie benötigen einen Fahrschein für zwei Zonen (2,30 €). Steigen Sie an der Haltestelle Durlacher Tor aus (Fahrzeit ca. 10 min, die Haltestelle ist zur Zeit wegen Bauarbeiten um 200 m nach Westen verlegt). Gehen Sie den Abenauerring entlang, vorbei an dem Gewächshaus des botanischen Instituts der Universität. Nachdem Sie eine Fußgängerbrücke unterquert haben, biegen Sie an der nächsten Abzweigung nach rechts auf das Gelände des Forschungszentrums Umwelt ein (10 min Fußweg). Das Institut befindet sich im rückwärtugen gebäude im dritten Stockwerk.

Weitere Informationen über den öffentlichen Personennahverkehr in Karlsruhe erhalten Sie vom WWW-Server des Karlsruher Verkehrsverbunds.

 

Anreise mit dem Flugzeug

Die nächsten Verkehrsflughäfen sind Frankfurt am Main, Stuttgart und Straßburg.
Die Zugfahrt von Frankfurt, Stuttgart und Straßburg nach Karlsruhe dauert etwa eine Stunde. Zugverbindungen können Sie im Internet bei der elektronischen Fahrplanauskunft der Deutschen Bahn erfragen.  

Informationen über Karlsruhe

Einen Stadtplan und weitere nützliche Informationen werden von der Stadt Karlsruhe online bereitgestellt.

 

Unterkünfte in Karlsruhe

Eine kleine Auswahl an verschiedenen Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten in Karlsruhe ist hier zu finden:

Hotel am Markt Karlsruhe

Hotel Novotel Karlsruhe City

Gastdozentenhaus "Heinrich Hertz"