Prof. Dr. rer. nat Helmut Ehrenberg

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
    Institut für Angewandte Materialien (IAM-ESS)
    Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
    D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Main research subjects

  • Materials for energy storage systems and their characterisation in an electrochemical cell
  • Structure-property relationships in functional materials, especially transition metal oxides, intermetallic compounds and composite materials
  • Further development of in operando characterisation procedures





  • 2005
    Habilitation in the field of "Materials Science"
    Technical University of Darmstadt (TUD)
    "Structures, phase transitions and properties of polymorphic 3D transition metal molybdates MeMoO4, Me=Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu und Zn"
  • 1996
    Ph. D. (Dr. rer. nat.)
    Materials Science, TUD
    Scientific discipline: Strcuture Research, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. H. Fueß
    "Determination and modelling of the magnetic properties of selected ternary transitional metal oxides"
  • 1991
    Diploma (Dipl.-Physicist)
    Insitute for Nuclear Physics, Prof. Dr. F. Beck (†)
    "Form factors in quantum hadrodynamics"


Employment Record


  • since 06/2012
    Head of the Institute for Applied Materials - Energy Storage Systems (IAM-ESS)
  • since 12/2010
    Professor for "Materials Research for novel Energy Storage Systems" at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • 10/2006-12/2010
    Head of Department "Functional Composite Materials" at the Leibnitz-Institute for Solid State and Materials Research IFW Dresden
  • 02/2005-12/2010
    Private lecturer for the subject "Materials Science" at the TUD
  • 04/1997-12/1997 & 11/1999-11/2000
    Beamline Scientist at HASYLAB / DESY in Hamburg
  • 1991-2006
    Research Associate at the Materials Science Faculty of the TUD


Employment abroad

  • 12/1997-11/1999
    Marie-Curie-Fellow at the University of Cambridge, England
    Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Superconductivity




  • 2001
    "Max-von-Laue Prize" of the German Crystallographic Association
  • 2001
    "Adolf-Messer Prize" for excellent performance in research and teaching
  • 2010-2012
    Guest Professor for "Materials Science for sustainable energy technology" at TU Bergakademie Freiberg



  • DFG Research Collaborative Center 595 "Electrical Fatigue in Funational Materials"
    Member of the Executive Board
    Speaker of the Transfer Unit
  • Member of the Board of Reviewers at the Institute-Laue-Langevin (ILL) in Grenoble
    2004-2007: Subcommittee „Magnetic Structures“
    Since 2016 Subcommittee „Structure“
  • Since 2009
    Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ), Neutron Research Source FRM-II
    Chair of the "Structure" section
  • 2009-2011
    Chair of the "Special Interest Group: Functional Materials" of the "European Crystallographic Association (ECA)"
  • 2012-2020
    Topic-Speaker „Energy Storage and Conversion“ of the KIT Center „Mobility Systems“
  • 2018-2022
    Co-Director of the Center for Electrochemical Energy Storage Ulm-Karlsruhe (CELEST)
  • Since 2019
    Speaker of the Cluster of Excellence „Energy Storage beyond Lithium“
  • Since 2017
    HGF Topic Delegate „Electrochemical Energy Storage“ in SCI (POF III) and MTET (POF IV)
  • Since 202011
    Lecturer at the HECTOR School (link to

All Publications