Institute for Applied Materials - Electrochemical Technologies (IAM-ET)

Batteries - Reaction Kinetics and Optimization

In our group, we are involved in research on lithium-ion and next-generation batteries. An essential part of our work is the deeper understanding of the underlying physical and chemical processes. To gain a deeper insight into these processes, we use synergies between mechanistic modelling and experimental investigations. This enables us to analyse and optimise batteries in terms of performance, ageing properties and safety.

One of our focal points is the investigation of reaction mechanisms and kinetics, starting from the structure of functional boundary layers up to energy conversion and degradation. This includes the description of a cell from its production to cell death.

Accurate chemical as well as electrochemical cell characterization is necessary for a detailed understanding of the underlying processes. Mass spectroscopic measurements, such as DEMS, allow deeper insights into ongoing reactions by determining reaction products. Furthermore, the electrochemical behaviour can be investigated in more detail by means of current-carrying capacity measurements, electrochemical impedance spectroscopy or cyclic voltammetry. In combination with our mechanistic models, these measurement methods allow a holistic understanding of current and future energy storage and energy conversion technologies. Depending on the problem, we can use models with different levels of detail, ranging from atomistic reactions to coupled microscopic/macroscopic descriptions.

In addition, we apply rigorous mathematical optimizations in order to translate the results of these models into practical applications. In collaborations with experts in the field of battery production, process understanding and model-based design proposals can be combined to accelerate progress in both areas.

Contact: Florian Baakes

From mathematical optimization to suitable electrode structures
From mathematical optimization to suitable electrode structures
Bild
From reaction networks to 3D-resolution and heats of reaction

Current research topics

Topic Contact
Simulation-based optimization of hierarchically structured high-capacity electrodes for Lithium-Ion batteries (HiStructures) Dion Wilde
Experimental investigation of gas evolution and modelling reaction kinetics during thermal runaway of Lithium-Ion batteries (BaSiS) Lars Bläubaum, Florian Baakes
Multi-scale analysis of initial SEI formation on lithium metal (Lillint) Janika Wagner
Modeling and optimisation of All-Solid-State-Batteries for aviation (IMOTHEP) Somayeh Toghyani
Investigation of solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) in Lithium-Ion batteries at elevated temperatures (SiMET) Michail Gerasimov
Model-based cell diagnosis and optimisation with focus on cell formation for Lithium-Ion batteries (DaLion 4.0)

Daniel Witt (KIT Partner)

Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Elektrochemische Technologien (IAM-ET)

Batterien: Reaktionskinetik und Optimierung

In unserer Gruppe beschäftigen wir uns mit der Forschung an Lithium-Ionen- sowie Next-Generation-Batterien. Ein wesentlicher Teil unserer Arbeit ist hier das vertiefte Verständnis der zugrundeliegenden physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse. Um uns einen tieferen Einblick in diese Vorgänge zu ermöglichen, nutzen wir Synergien zwischen mechanistischer Modellierung sowie experimentellen Untersuchungen. So sind wir in der Lage, Batterien in Hinblick auf Leistung, Alterungseigenschaften und Sicherheit zu analysieren und zu optimieren.

Einer unserer Schwerpunkte liegt auf der Untersuchung von Reaktionsmechanismen und – kinetiken, ausgehend vom Aufbau funktioneller Grenzschichten bis hin zu Energieumwandlung und Degradation. Dies umfasst die Beschreibung einer Zelle von ihrer Produktion bis hin zum Zelltod.

Für ein detailliertes Verständnis der zugrundeliegenden Prozesse ist eine akkurate chemische sowie elektrochemische Zellcharakterisierung notwendig. Massenspektroskopische Messungen, wie z.B. DEMS, ermöglichen durch die Bestimmung von Reaktionsprodukten tiefere Einblicke in ablaufende Reaktionen. Das elektrochemische Verhalten kann darüber hinaus mittels Strombelastbarkeitsmessungen, elektrochemischer Impedanzspektroskopie oder auch Cyclovoltammetrie genauer untersucht werden. Diese Messmethoden erlauben in Kombination mit unseren mechanistischen Modellen ein ganzheitliches Verständnis aktueller sowie zukünftiger Energiespeicherungs- und Energieumwandlungstechnologien. In Abhängigkeit der Fragestellung können wir hierbei Modelle mit unterschiedlichem Detaillevel zum Einsatz bringen, welche atomistische Reaktionen bis hin zu gekoppelten mikroskopisch/makroskopischen Beschreibungen umfassen.

Um mithilfe dieser Modelle erzielte Erkenntnisse in die praktische Anwendung zu bringen, setzen wir darüber hinaus auch rigorose mathematische Optimierungen ein. Im Rahmen von Kooperationen mit Fachleuten aus dem Bereich der Batterieproduktion können Prozessverständnis und modellbasierte Designvorschläge kombiniert werden, um Fortschritte in beiden Bereichen zu beschleunigen.

Ansprechpartner: Florian Baakes M.Sc. (Gruppenleiter)

From reaction networks to 3D resolution and Heats of reaction
Von Reaktionsnetzwerken zu 3D-Auflösung und Reaktionswärmen
From mathematical optimization to suitable electrode structures
Von der mathematischen Optimierung zur Auswahl geeigneter Elektrodenstrukturen

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

Thema Kontakt
Simulationsbasierte Strukturoptimierung hierarchisch strukturierter hochkapazitiver Elektroden (HiStructures) Dion Wilde M.Sc
Experimentelle Untersuchungen der Gasentwickung und Modellierung der Reaktionskinetik während des Thermal Runaways von Lithium-Ionen Zellen (BaSiS) Lars Bläubaum M.Sc., Florian Baakes M.Sc.
Multiskalenanalyse der SEI-Formierung auf Lithium-Metall Elektroden (Lillint) Janika Wagner M.Sc.
Mathematische Optimierung der Elektrodenstrukturen von Festkörperbatterien (IMOTHEP) Dr. Somayeh Toghyani
Untersuchungen der SEI von Lithium-Ionen Zellen bei erhöhter Temperatur (SiMET) Michail Gerasimov M.Sc.
Modellbasierte Zelldiagnose und Optimierung mit Fokus auf der Zellformierung bei Lithium-Ionen Zellen (DaLion 4.0)

Daniel Witt M.Sc. (KIT Partner)