Nuclear safety research

Direction: Dr. Juri Stuckert
QUENCH bundle
Typical arrangement of the QUENCH bundle

At the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, light water reactor (LWR) safety has been a focal topic of the NUSAFEExternal Linkprogramme for several years. The Nuclear Safety Research Group is concerned with the investigation of safety-relevant accident scenarios of light water reactors. The main focus of interest is the quantification of phenomena that can develop both during design-basis accidents (temperatures below 1200 °C) and during postulated beyond-design-basis accident sequences (temperatures above 1200 °C).

Central questions in the description of severe accidents include:

  • when and how does the reactor core begin to lose its original geometry as a result of the increasing temperatures,
  • when does the displacement of solid and molten core materials occur in the lower part of the reactor pressure vessel,
  • how much hydrogen is formed as a result of the oxidation of the core materials by water vapour and how is the hydrogen formation rate affected by the progressive core destruction,
  • how a partially blocked reactor core can be cooled by water injection. With regard to the timely termination of a severe reactor accident, flooding the overheated reactor core with water is one of the most important protective measures. This process can lead to violent exothermic chemical reactions between the resulting water vapour and the fuel element cladding tubes (various Zr alloys), temperature escalation and the formation of large quantities of hydrogen.

It is important to know the so-called hydrogen source term, i.e. generation rate and total quantity. This is determined in the electrically heated QUENCH test facility, which was commissioned in 1997, under various test conditions for PWR, BWR and VVER fuel elements with 21 to 31 approx. 2.5 m long fuel rod simulators. A heated fuel rod simulator consists of the cladding tube under investigation, the annular ZrO2 pellets (whose thermal properties are similar to those of UO2 pellets) and the central tungsten heater. The central unheated rod simulator can be replaced by a neutron absorber rod, which allows the influence of eutectic interactions between absorber and construction materials.

H2

The following phenomena were found to play a crucial role in the increased rate of hydrogen release:

Spalling of the developing oxide layer from the cladding tube surface in some Zr alloys in the temperature range from 750 to 1050 °C.lack of steam at higher bundle levels, which can lead to complex degradation of the protective oxide layerintensive fusion oxidation under non-isothermal conditions


Further phenomena, which occur due to air infiltration or formation and cooling of the debris bed of the decaying bundle, are dealt with in the framework of the international projects SARNET (EU), LACOMECO(EU), NUGENIA(EU), IVMR(EU), QUENCH-ATF (OECD-NEA), FUMAC (IAEA ), ACTOF (IAEA ) and ISTC.

Stab

Due to the higher burn-up levels in modern nuclear reactors and the use of newly developed cladding tubes, the safeguarding of emergency cooling criteria for design basis accidents is to be examined. In expert opinion practice, the coolability of the reactor core in the case of a LOCA design basis accident is currently regarded as proven if the residual ductility can be demonstrated by embrittlement criteria. However, residual ductility may be lost due to secondary hydrogenation after rod bursting under certain conditions. Instead of assessing a residual ductility, the assessment of fracture strength could be done in the future if such a fracture strength were known as a function of oxidation degree (ECR%) and hydrogenation degree (ppm H). In order to find these dependencies, the QUENCH-LOCA program was initiated.

The following special facilities are operated by the group:

CORA

Laserrohrscanner

QUENCH plant for bundle tests,LORA tube furnace for single samples with lengths up to 600 mm,Laser tube scanner for cladding tube profilometry.


The group owns two computer codes which are used for pre-calculations and post-calculations of all experiments:

  • mechanistic code SFPR/SVECHA for single rod calculations,
  • integral code ASTEC for bundle tests.

group

Institut für Angewandte Materialien - Angewandte Werkstoffphysik (IAM-AWP)

Nukleare Sicherheitsforschung

Leitung: Dr. Juri Stuckert
QUENCH bundle
Typische Anordnung des QUENCH-Bündels

Im Karlsruher Institut für Technologie ist die Leichtwasserreaktor(LWR)-Sicherheit seit mehreren Jahren ein Schwerpunktthema des NUSAFE External Link-Programms. Die Gruppe Nukleare Sicherheitsforschung befasst sich mit der Untersuchung von sicherheitsrelevanten Störfallszenarien von Leichtwasserreaktoren. Dabei steht im Vordergrund der Interessen die Quantifizierung der Phänomene, die sich sowohl während der Auslegungsstörfälle (Temperaturen unterhalb von 1200 °C) als auch bei postulierten auslegungsüberschreitenden Unfallabläufen (Temperaturen über 1200 °C) entwickeln können.

Zentrale Fragen bei der Beschreibung von schweren Störfällen unter anderem sind:

  • wann und wie beginnt der Reaktorkern seine ursprüngliche Geometrie als Folge der steigenden Temperaturen zu verlieren,
  • wann kommt es zur Verlagerung von festen und geschmolzenen Kernmaterialien im unteren Teil des Reaktordruckbehälters,
  • wie viel Wasserstoff entsteht infolge der Oxidation der Kernmaterialien durch Wasserdampf und wie wird die Wasserstoff-Bildungsrate durch die fortschreitende Kernzerstörung beeinflusst,
  • wie kann ein teilweise blockierter Reaktorkern durch Wassereinspeisung gekühlt werden. Im Hinblick auf die rechtzeitige Beendigung eines schweren Reaktorstörfalls ist das Fluten des überhitzten Reaktorkerns mit Wasser eine der wichtigsten Schutzmaßnahmen. Bei diesem Vorgang kann es zu heftigen exothermen chemischen Reaktionen zwischen dem entstehenden Wasserdampf und den Brennelementhüllrohren (verschiedene Zr-Legierungen), zur Temperatureskalation und zur Bildung von großen Mengen Wasserstoff kommen.

Es ist wichtig, den so genannten Wasserstoffquellterm, also Erzeugungsrate und Gesamtmenge, zu kennen. Dieser wird in der elektrisch beheizten QUENCH-Versuchsanlage, die 1997 in Betrieb genommen wurde, unter verschiedenen Versuchsbedingungen für DWR- SWR- und WWER- Brennelemente mit 21 bis 31 ca. 2,5 m langen Brennstabsimulatoren ermittelt. Ein beheizter Brennstabsimulator besteht aus dem zu untersuchenden Hüllrohr, den ringförmigen ZrO2-Pellets (dessen Wärmeeigenschaften ähnlich wie bei UO2-Pellets sind) und dem zentralen Wolframheizer. Der zentrale unbeheizte Stabsimulator kann durch einen Neutronenabsorberstab ersetzt werden, was den Einfluss der eutektischen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Absorber- und Konstruktionsmaterialien ermöglicht.

H2

Es wurde festgestellt, dass folgende Phänomene eine entscheidende Rolle für die erhöhte Freisetzungsrate des Wasserstoffs spielen:

Abplatzungen der entstehenden Oxidschicht von der Hüllrohroberfläche bei einigen Zr-Legierungen im Temperaturbereich von 750 bis 1050 °C Dampfmangel an höheren Bündelebenen, der zur komplexen Degradation der schützenden Oxidschicht führen kann intensive Schmelzoxidation unter nicht isothermischen Bedingungen

 

Weitere Phänomene, die bedingt durch Lufteinbruch oder Bildung und Kühlung des Schüttbetts des zerfallenden Bündels auftreten, werden im Rahmen der internationalen Projekte LACOMECO, NUGENIA, ACTOF und FUMAC (IAEA) bearbeitet.

Stab

Wegen der höheren Abbrandstufen bei modernen Kernreaktoren und Verwendung neu entwickelter Hüllrohre soll die Absicherung von Notkühl-Kriterien für Auslegungsstörfälle geprüft werden. In der Gutachtenspraxis gilt derzeit die Kühlbarkeit des Reaktorkerns bei einem LOCA-Auslegungsstörfall als nachgewiesen, wenn die Restduktilität durch Versprödungskriterien nachgewiesen werden kann. Die Restduktilität kann aber wegen einer sekundären Hydrierung nach Bersten des Stabs unter bestimmten Bedingungen verloren gehen. Anstelle der Beurteilung einer Restduktilität könnte künftig die Beurteilung der Bruchfestigkeit treten, wenn eine solche Bruchfestigkeit als Funktion von Oxidationsgrad (ECR%) und Hydrierungsgrad (ppm H) bekannt wäre. Um diese Abhängigkeiten zu finden, wurde das QUENCH-LOCA-Programm initiiert.

Folgende spezielle Anlagen werden von der Gruppe betrieben:

CORA

Laserrohrscanner

QUENCH-Anlage für Bündelversuche, LORA-Rohrofen für einzelne Proben mit Längen bis zu 600 mm, Laserrohrscanner für Hüllrohrprofilometrie.

 

Die Gruppe besitzt zwei Computer-Codes, die für Voraus- und Nachrechnungen aller Versuche benutzt werden:

  • mechanistischer Code SFPR/SVECHA für Einzelstabrechnungen,
  • Integralcode ASTEC External Link für Bündelversuche.

group