Institute for Applied Materials – Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Compounds from Composite Materials - Evaluation of additive manufacturing for RM-Si(-B-X) based substrates

M.Sc. Frauke Hinrichs

Motivation

In the graduate school 2561 (Materials Compounds from Composite Materials), researchers from the Technical University Darmstadt, the DECHEMA, and KIT collaborate, to develop novel composite materials for high-temperature applications above 1300 °C in challenging atmospheric conditions. To achieve this, high melting point multi-phase materials based on refractory metal silicide systems will be prepared to serve as a substrate material to be coated with polymer-derived ceramic nanocomposites (PDC-NCs) based on Si(M)CX.

Mo-Si-Ti(-B) alloys posses outstanding microstructure stability and creep resistance at high temperatures. Furthermore, they also provide adequate deformability and toughness at ambient temperatures. Manufacturing substrates of this alloy system by Electron Beam Melting (EBM) with high pre-heating temperatures will avoid thermal cycling around the brittle-to-ductile transition temperature (DBTT) and therefore cracking of the build components.

Objectives

  • Determination of process parameters to obtain crack-free (eutectic) Mo-Ti-Si(-B) substrate with the EBM process
  • Determining the influence of process-related cooling rates and thermal gradients on the alloy’s microstructure as well as the importance of heat treatments
  • Linking the findings on local chemical composition, the lateral length scale of phases, as well as micro-texture, depending on the different processing strategies to the mechanical properties and oxidation resistance of the material

Investigations

  • Parameter study to obtain a crack- and pore-free substrates
  • O-/N-analysis for tracking the material purity during the process
  • Microstructure investigations after material manufacturing via EBM
  • Heat treatments to investigate microstructure stability

Funding

Graduate school 2561 "Materials Compounds from Composite Materials" by the Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft

Institut für Angewandte Materialien – Werkstoffkunde

Materialverbunde aus Verbundwerkstoffen – Charakterisierung von additiv hergestellten RM-Si(-B-X) basierten Substraten

M.Sc. Frauke Hinrichs

Motivation

Ziel des Graduiertenkollegs 2561 (Werkstoffverbunde aus Verbundwerkstoffen) ist die Entwicklung von Verbundwerkstoffen zum Einsatz bei Betriebstemperaturen von über 1300 °C und extremen Umgebungsbedingungen in Kooperation mit der Technischen Universität Darmstadt und der Dechema. Hochschmelzende mehrphasige refraktärmetallbasierte Materialien sollen hierbei als Substratmaterial zur Beschichtung mit aus Polymeren abgeleiteten keramischen Nanokompositen auf Si(M)CX -Basis dienen.

Aufgrund ihrer hervorragenden Mikrostrukturstabilität und Kriecheigenschaften bei ultrahohen Temperaturen und gleichzeitiger adäquater Zähigkeit bei Raumtemperatur, werden metallisch/intermetallische Legierungen aus dem Mo-Si-Ti(-B)-System für die Herstellung des Substratmaterials mittels Elektronenstrahlschmelzen (EBM) gewählt. Dieser noch relativ neue Herstellungsprozess bietet aufgrund der hohen Vorheiztemperaturen den Vorteil, die bei solchen Legierungssystemen auftretende Duktil-Spröd-Übergangstemperatur zu umgehen. Dadurch können Probleme vermieden werden, die bei der Herstellung komplexer Bauteile mit konventionellen Herstellverfahren auftreten.

Ziele

  • Ermittlung der Prozessparameter zur Herstellung rissfreier Werkstücke (eutektischer) Mo-Ti-Si Legierungen mit und ohne B mit dem EBM-Verfahren
  • Untersuchung des Einflusses  der Prozessbedingten hohen Abkühlraten und thermischen Gradienten auf die Mikrostruktur der Mo-Si-Ti(-B) Legierungen, sowie des Einflusses von Wärmebehandlungen
  • Verknüpfung der Erkenntnisse über die verschiedenen Einflüsse der Prozessführung auf Mikrostrukturebene mit den resultierenden mechanischen Eigenschaften und der Oxidationsbeständigkeit des Materials

Untersuchungen

  • Parameterstudie zur Herstellung möglichst porenfreier Substrate
  • O-/N-Analyse zur Nachverfolgung der Materialreinheit in der Prozesskette
  • Mikrostrukturuntersuchungen nach Probenherstellung mittels EBM
  • Wärmebehandlungen zur Untersuchung der Gefügestabilität

Förderung

Gradiertenkolleg 2561 "Werkstoffverbunde aus Verbundwerkstoffen" der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft