Institute for Applied Materials – Materials Science and Engineering

Micro Computed Tomography

Micro Computed Tomography

Micro computed tomography (µCT) allows, analogous to conventional X-ray computed tomography, the non-destructive testing of materials and components with regard to local density differences. Thus, pores, cavities and cracks as well as different phases or components can be detected and analyzed. For this purpose, a virtual 3D model of the material or component is reconstructed from radiographs at different angles using a 3D reconstruction. In contrast to medical tomography, the resolution here can be in the micrometer range, depending on the sample or component size.

Micro-CT is used in medical imaging as well as in industrial computed tomography and material analysis. Here it offers the advantage of negligible sample preparation and a non-destructive measurement procedure.

The Micro-CT System Precision from YXLON GmbH allows both images of large component groups of different materials and high-resolution images of smaller material samples. A tube voltage of up to 225kV allows images of various materials such as aluminum alloys, polymers and steels with a cumulative thickness of up to 10mm.

An in-situ testing device developed at IAM-WK allows loading samples and observing damage mechanisms during scanning. Using digital image registration methods, strain fields at different loading levels can be calculated and visualized three-dimensionally.

The department "Manufacturing and Component Behaviour" uses both commercial software (VGStudio, Avizo) and self-developed open source projects (https://sourceforge.net/p/composight/wiki/Home/, https://github.com/IAM-WK) for µCT analysis in order to realize tailor-made solutions for questions in microstructure characterization. In this area we are working on the topic:

Institut für Angewandte Materialien – Werkstoffkunde

Microcomputertomographie

Die Mikrocomputertomographie (µCT) erlaubt, analog zur konventionellen Röntgen-Computertomographie, die zerstörungsfreie Prüfung von Werkstoffen und Bauteilen hinsichtlich lokaler Dichteunterschiede. Somit können Poren, Lunker und Risse sowie unterschiedliche Phasen oder Bauteilkomponenten detektiert und analysiert werden. Hierzu wird aus Radiographien unter verschiedenen Winkeln über eine 3D-Rekonstruktion ein virtuelles 3D Modell des Werkstoffs oder Bauteils nachgebildet. Die Auflösung kann hier im Gegensatz zur medizinischen Tomographie je nach Proben bzw. Bauteilgröße im Mikrometer-Bereich liegen.

Die Mikro-CT findet sowohl in der medizinischen Bildgebung als auch in der industriellen Computertomographie sowie Werkstoffanalytik ihre Anwendung. Hier bietet sie vor allem den Vorteil einer zu vernachlässigenden Probenvorbereitung und einem gleichzeitig zerstörungsfreien Messablauf.

Das Micro-CT System Precision der Firma YXLON GmbH ermöglicht sowohl Aufnahmen großer Bauteilgruppen aus unterschiedlichen Materialien als auch hochauflösende Aufnahmen kleinerer Werkstoffproben. Eine Röhrenspannung von bis zu 225kV erlaubt dabei Aufnahmen verschiedenster Materialien wie von Aluminumlegierungen, Polymeren sowie Stählen bis zu 10mm kumulativer Dicke.

Eine eigens am IAM-WK entwickelte In-Situ Prüfvorrichtung erlaubt es, Proben während der Belastung zu scannen und Schädigungsmechanismen zu beobachten. Über digitale Bildregistrierungsverfahren können Dehnungsfelder bei verschiedenen Belastungsstufen dreidimensional errechnet und visualisiert werden.

Die Abteilung „Fertigung und Bauteilverhalten“ setzt in der µCT-Analyse dabei sowohl auf kommerzielle Software (VGStudio, Avizo) als auch selbst entwickelte OpenSource Projekte (https://sourceforge.net/p/composight/wiki/Home/ oder https://github.com/IAM-WK) um maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Fragen in der Mikrostrukturcharakterisierung zu realisieren.

Im diesem Bereich arbeiten wir an dem Thema: