Institute for Applied Materials – Materials Science and Engineering

Project 1: Single-source precursor synthesis of ceramic nanocomposites for (ultra) high-temperature applications

M.Sc. Jan Bernauer

Supervisors: Prof. Ralf Riedel, Prof. Hans-Joachim Kleebe

Ultra-high-temperature ceramics (UHTCs) are a class of materials with a melting point of 3000°C and beyond. Therefore, they are mainly used in applications where high temperatures (T > 2000°C) are required e.g. thermal barrier coatings. Borides, carbides and nitrides of the early transition metals (Zr, Hf, Nb, Ta) are suitable for this purpose. However, various studies revealed that single-phase bulk UHTCs have rather poor oxidation resistance under extreme and aggressive environment. Ceramic composites can be an alternative solution for applications in such environment.

The PDC (polymer derived ceramics) method is particularly suitable for the synthesis of ceramic composites. Pre-ceramic polymer precursors are thermally decomposed and thus offer simple and inexpensive access to various ceramic systems. Project 1 of GRK 2561 deals with the synthesis of ceramic composite systems for high-temperature applications by the PDC route. To produce suitable precursors, various polysilazanes [R1R2Si-NR3] are used in this project. The ternary system SiCN and modified systems with the composition Si(M, B)CN (M = Ti, Zr, Hf) are manufactured by thermal treatment of the precursors. Organometallic compounds are used to modify the polysilazanes. Spectroscopic and thermogravimetric analyzes are used for the intensive investigation of the precursors and the ceramization process.

Subsequently, various processes are used to produce monoliths of the ternary and multinary systems namely: warm pressing followed by thermal treatment, hot pressing at temperatures from 1600°C - 1800°C, as well as FAST / SPS techniques (Field Assisted Sintering Technology / Spark Plasma Sintering) at 1600°C - 1800 ° C. The monoliths produced in this way are structurally characterized using the common methods.

Institut für Angewandte Materialien – Werkstoffkunde

Projekt 1

Ultrahochtemperatur-Keramiken (UHTCs) sind Verbindungen, welche einen Schmelzpunkt von 3000°C und höher besitzen. Sie werden hauptsächlich für Hochtemperaturanwendungen (T > 2000°C) wie z.B. in Wärmedämmschichten eingesetzt. Für Anwendungen in diesem Temperaturbereich sind besonders die Boride, Carbide und Nitride der frühen Übergangsmetalle (Zr, Hf, Nb, Ta) geeignet.  In verschiedenen Arbeiten wurde jedoch gezeigt, dass einphasige UHTCs schlechte Oxidationsbeständigkeit unter extremen und aggressiven Umgebungen aufweisen. Keramikverbundwerkstoffe (composites) stellen hierfür eine alternative Lösung dar.

Für die Synthese von Keramikverbund-Systemen eignet sich vor allem die PDC (Polymer derived ceramics) Methode. Präkeramische Polymer-Präkursoren werden dabei thermisch zersetzt und bieten so einen einfachen und kostengünstigen Zugang zu verschiedenen keramischen Systemen. Projekt 1 des GRK 2561 beschäftigt sich mit der Synthese von Keramikverbund-Systemen für den Hochtemperatur-Einsatz. Hierbei wird die Polymer-Präkursor-Route genutzt. Um geeignete Präkursoren herzustellen, werden in diesem Projekt verschiedene Polysilazane [-R1R2Si-NR3-]n eingesetzt. Durch thermische Behandlung sollen das ternäre System SiCN, sowie modifizierte Systeme der Zusammensetzung Si(M,B)CN (M = Ti, Zr, Hf) dargestellt werden. Für die Modifikation der Polysilazane werden metallorganischen Verbindungen verwendet. Spektroskopische sowie thermogravimetrische Analysen werden zur intensiven Untersuchung der Präkursoren, sowie des Keramisierungsschritts angewandt.

Im Anschluss werden verschiedene Prozesse eingesetzt, um Monolithe des ternären sowie des multinären Systems darzustellen: Warmpressen gefolgt von thermischer Behandlung, Heißpressen bei Temperaturen von 1600°C bis 1800°C, sowie FAST/SPS Techniken (Field Assisted Sintering Technology/ Spark Plasma Sintering) bei 1600°C bis 1800°C. Die so erzeugten Monolithe werden mit den gängigen Methoden strukturell charakterisiert.